beginner to MMD and LaTeX: looking for advice for incorporating into existing Scrivener 3/Papers 3 academic workflow

tl;dr: As a complete MMD and LaTeX beginner, what is the simplest workflow I could adopt that allows me to use existing LaTeX templates from academic publishers + Scrivener?

I’ve just started to lurk on this forum and the great resources/discussion here. But as a beginner I confess to jumping into the MMD/LaTeX pool without first learning to swim a bit. Most of my time has been spent browsing Fletcher Penney’s MultiMarkdown resources: github.com/fletcher

As a PhD student I am revising my workflow to be as efficient as possible while also avoiding having to go down the rabbit hole of LaTeX. However, since LaTeX templates are almost always provided for most of my writing projects, I want to take advantage of them to automate formatting. But I have no LaTeX experience and have never used LaTeX templates.

My current workflow primarily consists of MacOS Scrivener 3 for writing + Papers 3 for references/library. They do play nice together with Paper’s “magic” cite key features (thanks for updating this recently). However, I don’t take full advantage of Scrivener’s compile features and embedded MMD functionality. I almost always end up compiling as a .doc and then doing a bit of formatting in Word before sending to colleagues. I still need to use .doc/x with colleagues from time to time, and that won’t change, but I want to streamline the process and also produce high quality .pdfs as most everyone here does too.

My writing projects include:

1. PhD dissertation in University-required formatting (a LaTeX template exists).
  2. Individual papers for submission to academic journals in their required formatting (often a LaTeX template exists).
  3. Maintaining working versions of these papers, and generating high quality PDFs of them as needed (presumably using LaTeX to enable this, using a template).