Storage Location message

do
dougal
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 4:52 am
Platform: Mac

Thu May 17, 2018 5:02 am Post

Each time I open a project I receive a message saying---" The project is stored inside its automatic backup folder. This could result in a potential loss of data ---it is recommended you close the project and move it to a different location.""
I'm unsure what I'm doing wrong, as I had assumed that storing the project inside its automatic backup folder would be the right thing to do.

I'm still coming to terms with using Scrivener, and I'm sorry if this is a stupidly basic question--but I would like some help on the matter. I have looked at the videos and manual, but don't see an obvious suggestion as to what I should do.
Dougal

User avatar
lunk
Posts: 2684
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:24 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Sweden 64° N

Thu May 17, 2018 5:41 am Post

The backup is just that, a copy of previous versions of the project. You define where to have them in Preferences.

When you start a new project you define where to save it. It should simply be somewhere else.
Keep the backups in one place and your live projects somewhere rlse.

63427F54-B703-4357-B82F-556733DA1741.jpeg
63427F54-B703-4357-B82F-556733DA1741.jpeg (181.46 KiB) Viewed 495 times
I am a user, writing non-fiction and science, using:
* Mac Scrivener 3 on a Macbook 12”, MacBook Pro 13”, and iMac 27”, all running the latest MacOS
* iOS Scrivener 1 on an iPhone 8, iPad Air 9.7”, and iPad Pro 12.9”, all running the latest iOS

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20058
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Thu May 17, 2018 12:06 pm Post

As Lunk says, you'll want your live project in a folder that is not the backups folder. So, for instance, you might have:

My Writing - a folder containing all of your live writing projects.
Scrivener Backups - a folder containing automatic backups (you can set this in the Preferences).

When you close a project, Scrivener will make a copy of that project in the "Scrivener Backups" folder. By default, it will only keep the five latest backups around, deleting earlier ones (again, this is something you can change in the Preferences).

Depending on your settings, problems could emerge if you have your live project in the backup folder, because Scrivener might try to overwrite it with a backup of itself or delete it to make way for a new backup before creating the backup, thus destroying your project. Thus Scrivener warns you that you shouldn't keep live projects in the automatic backups folder.

You can easily navigate to the backups folder by opening Scrivener's Preferences ("Preferences..." in the "Scrivener" menu and clicking on the "Open backup folder..." button under "Backups". You can then move any live projects to another folder (make sure they are closed first). Alternatively, you can change the location of the backups folder in the same area of the Preferences.

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

do
dougal
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 4:52 am
Platform: Mac

Thu May 17, 2018 9:05 pm Post

Thanks so much. I get it now!

Dougal