Images look faded and have false colors

kc
kcs304
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 8:49 pm
Platform: Mac

Wed May 23, 2018 11:26 pm Post

I look forward to this bug fix. I have spent many hours fixing this to find out that it is broken again. I appreciate the fix. What is the timeline for releasing this bug fix?

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20208
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Thu May 24, 2018 12:23 pm Post

3.0.3 is planned for release next week (unexpected obstacles notwithstanding).
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

Er
EricBeaty
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 4:09 pm
Platform: Mac

Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:37 pm Post

A rep from L&L responded to me today and had this to say:
The Scrivener 3.0.3 release, which is imminent, should have a fix for this issue.

So, I guess the best workaround, for now, is to resize the image in a separate program outside of Scrivener then reimport it.

gr
grissenko
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 1:10 pm
Platform: Mac

Mon Jun 11, 2018 4:08 pm Post

KB wrote:3.0.3 is planned for release next week (unexpected obstacles notwithstanding).


This update has been expected for several weeks now, may we have an update on when this will be released please?

dh
dhavalpanchal
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 14, 2018 7:19 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:31 pm Post

Any update please! - I have been following this thread hoping that a fix is released. thanks - D

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 22158
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
Contact:

Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:54 pm Post

The update is out! (Use the Scrivener ▸ Check for Updates... menu command, or for MAS users, wait to get an update notice from the Mac App Store software). Hopefully this problem should be gone for good.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

gr
grissenko
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 1:10 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:27 pm Post

AmberV wrote:The update is out! (Use the Scrivener ▸ Check for Updates... menu command, or for MAS users, wait to get an update notice from the Mac App Store software). Hopefully this problem should be gone for good.


This is wonderful news, thank you!

cy
cynthea
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:30 pm
Platform: Mac

Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:13 pm Post

This happened to me awhile ago when I accepted an update or maybe when I paid for the newer version. I have been afraid to add other updates. Since this happened- all my images were faded in over 50 projects! I have lost track but was suspicious this may be happening to new images also, as you said randomly. I have learned to add links, so I am able to obtain images again, but this is a huge PIA. Also, just now I am taking screen shots from a PDF and there will not be a link. I like to keep many things in Scrivener and do not double up, ie I do not keep the PDF. Now, I am going to have to keep the pdf's (multiple) on an almost full hard drive! I do have a back up hard drive- which is misplaced at the moment ;) I can only find my older one. Darn that thing, where is it hiding.... Anyway, I have been frustrated for a very long time with this issue!

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20208
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:41 pm Post

cynthea wrote:This happened to me awhile ago when I accepted an update or maybe when I paid for the newer version. I have been afraid to add other updates. Since this happened- all my images were faded in over 50 projects! I have lost track but was suspicious this may be happening to new images also, as you said randomly. I have learned to add links, so I am able to obtain images again, but this is a huge PIA. Also, just now I am taking screen shots from a PDF and there will not be a link. I like to keep many things in Scrivener and do not double up, ie I do not keep the PDF. Now, I am going to have to keep the pdf's (multiple) on an almost full hard drive! I do have a back up hard drive- which is misplaced at the moment ;) I can only find my older one. Darn that thing, where is it hiding.... Anyway, I have been frustrated for a very long time with this issue!


Just to clarify, this was never a bug introduced in Scrivener, but a bug introduced by Apple into 10.13.4 - so you will have seen the issue when you updated macOS. I reported the bug to Apple and it was closed as a duplicate (i.e. other developers had also reported). Fortunately, I was able to find a workaround by using a different method of saving the images. Unfortunately we cannot predict bugs that Apple introduce.
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

rm
rms
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:32 am
Platform: Mac + iOS

Sat Aug 11, 2018 2:00 pm Post

I'm using 3.0.3 and see the same issue. I see that the source of bug is with Apple and am patient to wait for it to be fixed (?) someday. Until then is there anything I can do in Scrivener to work around? I'd prefer to not resize outside of Scrivener as it will take a lot of time, but if I have to for final compiles, I guess I will.
Thanks!

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20208
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Tue Aug 28, 2018 3:38 pm Post

Unfortunately there's not much you can do to work around it. I have a more global fix in place for the next free update, but that is still a few weeks away. Apple informed me that they have fixed the bug in 10.14, but, as is so often the case, on testing it seems that they have not, so I have re-reported the issue to them.

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

tc
tcowan
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 9:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Fri Sep 28, 2018 12:10 am Post

This bug just bit me, and I am just learning to use Scrivener to draft my assignment writeups. I teach Computer Science, and my students need a lot of pictures to help them understand the requirements.

This bug is a showstopper for me. I didn't notice that Scrivener 3.01 had corrupted my graphics until a student mentioned it after I published it. I have since upgraded to 3,03 and all but one of my graphics returned to normal. Since I use Skitch for screen capture, I had all of the originals on my system, so I simply replaced the corrupted one.

I am having a trust problem right now with Scrivener. Is there a timeframe for a permanent solution to this problem?

Thanks for listening.

qu
quicksilver
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 5:32 pm
Platform: Mac

Mon Oct 08, 2018 5:49 pm Post

Dear all,

This issue still occurs, I'm afraid to say. I'm writing a film studies PhD thesis containing around 350 images. I'm running MAC OS 10.14 with Scrivener version 3.03. So if it was an Apple bug, it's not fixed. I should also say that I never encountered the issue before using Scrivener version 3 with Mac OS 10.14.

Please L&L, fix this. As far as I'm concerned this is as much your responsibility as the software supplier to provide a workaround for the issue (as a correction, via a minor version update). Your job is to supply software compatible with the operating system and in one sense it's currently not compatible. I work for a software supplier myself so know exactly how the responsibility goes. In ITIL speak, this is a product defect that needs action.

Thanks!