Best s/w for starting Uni.

I know there are other similar threads around, but I’m looking for specific advice. I am about to start Uni, and would love some ideas on what the best s/w is for me. I love Scrivener, but I need to look at other types of software.

The most important is bibliographic s/w. I’ve never used it before. I downloaded Zotero, but I hate Firefox, and most of my references will be printed books. Also I frequently have no internet access at all. I tried out bookends, but it felt limiting and I just didn’t take to it. I downloaded the trial of Sente, and that looks much better. But I know my Uni supports Endnote, so would that be a safer bet? Also, my subject is in Humanities, and uses JSTOR. Is one better than another for that?

Also, should I look at Mellel or Nissus, or stick with Pages/Word? Are there any key advantages/disadvantages?

Lastly, I have been trying the trial of Devonthink, and it seems good, but really, what does it do in everyday life, and is it, or its’ sister s/w worth me getting?

Thank you for taking the time to read this. Any advice and opinions would be greatly appreciated!

I understand that Bookends feels a bit clunky – it feels like a port of a Windows application – but when I used it alongside Sente for a little while, I found it to be amazingly flexible, and easily better for a humanities student than Sente.I can’t remember exactly why this was so, but Sente has its origins in the sciences, and both its search capabilities and referencing methods shine in those disciplines. This may have changed recently, however, because I compared them a couple of years ago.

If you read a lot of papers in PDF format I recommend Skim for its powerful annotation features and general superiority to the alternatives: http://skim-app.sourceforge.net/