New to Scrivener-pre purchase question

Mac vs Windows,

I am new to scrivener and writing, I was told if I learn this software early in my writing career I will love throughout it.

So question, Windows is at version 1 Mac is at version 3???. Is there a big difference between Mac and Windows versions? Is the product best on Mac? I have no problem with either OS.

I guess I am asking, would it be best for me to us a Mac with this software??

Thanks

mlennon

Simple answer:

1. You have a 30 days of actual use—not calendar days—trial period on the Mac, so download and install it and give it a good try;
  2. Download and install the public Windows v. 3 Beta from here:
    https://forum.literatureandlatte.com/t/scrivener-3-0-beta-release-candidate-10-download-links-change-list/38228/1
    bearing in mind that it is a Beta with some of the features still incomplete and some bugs still being dealt with. That said, it is stable. My collaborator is using it on Windows and I am using Mac; we have been sharing projects under that system for well over a year now, with very few problems, i.e. conflicts arising from not paying enough attention to synchronising.
  3. If you want to share projects across the platforms, Dropbox is the recommended route, but do read
    scrivener.tenderapp.com/help/kb … c-services
    carefully, and above all avoid Google Drive as it is known to corrupt Scrivener projects. At the bottom of that article there are advisories on One Drive and Google Drive. My collaborator and I use Sync because she can’t access Dropbox; Sync claim it’s not compatible with Scrivener, but we’ve been using it for several years now with care and have had very few problems. Dropbox is the safest, and if you want to add iOS to your suite, the only cloud sync system that doesn’t need extensive, personal human intervention—though it seems a number of people are encountering problems using Dropbox and the current version of iOS, particularly on new devices.