Scratchpad [Beta 34]

an
andy@a-o.co.uk
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:52 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Jan 16, 2020 9:48 am Post

Hi

I was just testing the Scratchpad functionality and found some glitches.

Note I am using a two-screen set-up, Windows 10 Home version 1903 all patched.

There are issues were with the screenshot function. Here are some of the issues:
1, Sometimes the screenshot camera icon is disabled and offers no functionality. Closing and reopening scratchpad may fix this.
2. When it is functional, if you select "Grab an area with Mouse" that works fine (please note with dual-screen set-up to grab an area on any particular screen, move the "Print Screen or Selection" dialog box to that screen then press the "Grab an Area with Mouse" or "Print Current Screen" button - it would be cool if the green selection grid was placed over both screens....), you select your screenshot, BUT when you press "Save and Close", Scrivener usually crashes.
3. Using the "Print Current Screen" function, It took me some time to understand the relevance of the number of seconds to wait option at the bottom. It would be better to default this to 2 seconds as the uninitiated may start clicking trying to find the minimised dialog within 5 seconds. (It hides then reappears after 5 seconds). Again in a dual-screen set-up to grab an screenshot of screen 2 , move the "Print Screen or Selection" dialog box to that screen .
4. Keyboard shortcut CTRL+SHIFT+0 only works for "0" above O and P not "0" on the numerical keypad. Please add.

Hope that helps. Thanks.

JJ
JJSlote
Posts: 546
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:44 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: NY, USA              Docs in Binder: 10,500+

Thu Jan 16, 2020 10:44 am Post

Yep, thanks for this. Exactly my experience, but I could not reproduce it reliably enough to report.

Rgds - Jerome

jo
johnmarkoff
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:03 pm
Platform: Mac

Sat Jan 18, 2020 10:09 pm Post

Just a note to say that I just used Scratchpad for the first time in a long time -- current Scrivener and MACOS Catalina -- and almost immediately had the first Scrivener crash that I have had in awhile. Going back to using MacOS notes instead....