Scrolling within Index Cards

Ja
Jack Daniel
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:54 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Sep 10, 2019 5:13 pm Post

I have capitulated. I finally see the beauty of the cork board.

I've been pretty good at avoiding it, and being able to figure out the proper structure of scenes and beats inside a chapter (folder, in my case) without resorting to it.

But today, I'm overwhelmed. Structure is the hardest thing for me. Inspiration comes to me in whatever order it comes, and often that is not the order things should sit on the reader timeline, especially if that order violates causality and common order or timeline continuity. So my first drafts need reordering quite often, to achieve a proper reader timeline. I have chapters well out of order sometimes and scenes inside them also out of order, and a main editing task is to reorder them properly. Many of you may understand this well.

Today, I have a 2,600-W chapter with 10 short scenes in it, not written in the best order. I've been going crazy trying to place them in an order that makes temporal sense and reader timeline sense. Then it finally struck me. The cork board!

But now I have a suggestion: I like that I can scroll the entire page of index cards. But what if we could scroll the text inside the index cards? Scroll each of them individually? (not including the top line, of course) And if so, I would imagine it best to automatically reset to the top of the document upon entering the cork board, but it would also be good if we could select a word inside the text on an index card, and then the text would reset to that line in the text whenever we invoked the cork board for that folder.

Is this possible? Does it make sense that this is a good idea?

User avatar
krastev
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 am
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Tue Sep 10, 2019 5:20 pm Post

You can.

Click twice on the index card you want to read
OR
Look at the Inspector -> Notes -> Synopsys
Krastev
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.13.0
Testing Scrivener Beta for Windows

Ja
Jack Daniel
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:54 pm
Platform: Mac

Wed Sep 11, 2019 7:59 am Post

krastev wrote:You can.

Click twice on the index card you want to read

Maybe in Windows. On a Mac, all that happens is the text disappears and you can type on the card. I don't want to type. Typing is done. Over. I want to shuttle through the text already written.


OR
Look at the Inspector -> Notes -> Synopsys

That would imply there is a synopsis. I don't use them, because I can keep what a scene or beat (or a chapter) is about in my head without writing a synopsis. I'm not interested in seeing something I already know, I'm interested in being able to shuttle the text for specificity, without having to leave the cork board to do it.

br
brookter
Posts: 1911
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Wed Sep 11, 2019 9:21 am Post

Jack

The text on the front of the corkboard cards *is* the synopsis. Behind the scenes they are the same plain .txt file (which incidentally is why you can't use bold/italic/colours etc on the index card text/synopsis).

If you want to see the actual content of each document while you're in the corkboard, then there's a special view which makes this easy.

First of all, click on a folder -- say a Chapter which has several subdocuments, one per scene -- and enter corkboard mode (cmd/ctl-2 toggle). You'll see the corkboard in the normal way.

Now choose Windows > Layouts > Three-Pane (Corkboard). A new editor will open to the side of the corkboard. If you click in any of the index cards, then its full text will be shown in the right hand editor -- and if you page through the corkboard (using our old friend cmd-opt-up/down ;-)) you'll see that the text in the right-hand pane changes according. You an also see there's a little blue icon like a box with an arrow in the footer bar: that's the sign that this special 'follow the selection' mode is on. (You can actually recreate the special layout from scratch using this, but the layout method is easier.) There's a similar layout for the Outline rather than corkboard, if you'd prefer that.

You can still make changes to the order in the corkboard by dragging/dropping of course. I f you want more space for either element, you can of course resize them / remove the binder/inspector etc in the normal way.


HTH.

User avatar
krastev
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 am
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Wed Sep 11, 2019 2:50 pm Post

Jack Daniel wrote:
krastev wrote:You can.

Click twice on the index card you want to read

Maybe in Windows. On a Mac, all that happens is the text disappears and you can type on the card. I don't want to type. Typing is done. Over. I want to shuttle through the text already written.


OR
Look at the Inspector -> Notes -> Synopsys

That would imply there is a synopsis. I don't use them, because I can keep what a scene or beat (or a chapter) is about in my head without writing a synopsis. I'm not interested in seeing something I already know, I'm interested in being able to shuttle the text for specificity, without having to leave the cork board to do it.


You can, even on Mac. The text you see IS a synopsis, as brookter said, just not a synopsis you have written. It's automatically populated from the main text in that file(that's why it looks greyish). You didn't mention this in your original post, but if you have done so, I would have told you that it's not the whole text but the first N number of words in your main text. This is why they disappear when you click twice.

If you want to have the same text on the index cards as you have inside the file, you'll have to copy the text into the synopsis. There is no automated way to do this.

It will be helpful if you specify at least your OS and Scrivener version you are using when asking questions. The more information you provide, the easier it will be to render you help. Most of the people in the forum are users like you, and our time is valuable.

Regards,
M
Krastev
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.13.0
Testing Scrivener Beta for Windows

br
brookter
Posts: 1911
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:01 pm Post

I agree with everything Krastev said, with one minor caveat..

If you want to have the same text on the index cards as you have inside the file, you'll have to copy the text into the synopsis. There is no automated way to do this


It's a good disagreement, though ;-). There *is* an automated way to populate the synopsis from the main text:

Documents > Auto-fill > Set Synopsis from Main Text.

This will copy the entire text to the synopsis -- if you select some text first, it will only copy the selection (the menu item changes accordingly). The full text auto-fill will also work across multiple documents, so you could do the whole book in one go if you want... (I don't think that would be helpful for your current situation, as I explained in my previous post -- it's not a good idea to overload the synopsis, which isn't meant for holding vast reams of text.)

HTH.

User avatar
krastev
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 am
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:06 pm Post

brookter wrote:I agree with everything Krastev said, with one minor caveat..

If you want to have the same text on the index cards as you have inside the file, you'll have to copy the text into the synopsis. There is no automated way to do this


It's a good disagreement, though ;-). There *is* an automated way to populate the synopsis from the main text:

Documents > Auto-fill > Set Synopsis from Main Text.

This will copy the entire text to the synopsis -- if you select some text first, it will only copy the selection (the menu item changes accordingly). The full text auto-fill will also work across multiple documents, so you could do the whole book in one go if you want... (I don't think that would be helpful for your current situation, as I explained in my previous post -- it's not a good idea to overload the synopsis, which isn't meant for holding vast reams of text.)

HTH.

I learn something new every day. :D :mrgreen: Thank you, brookter.

M
Krastev
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.13.0
Testing Scrivener Beta for Windows

br
brookter
Posts: 1911
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:44 pm Post

You and me both -- I had a vague feeling there was a feature, but until I'd checked the details this afternoon, I hadn't realised it worked on multiple docs...

User avatar
Silverdragon
Posts: 1100
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:52 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Tarzana, California, USA
Contact:

Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:24 pm Post

Actually, the auto-fill from main text command doesn't load the entire main text into the synopses, but only the first N characters ( I think about 500.) Like JackDaniel, I prefer to not apply real synopses to any documents save those which are true outline documents, in which case the synopsis is my outline.

@JackDaniel, I recommend the Windows > Layouts > Three-Pane (Corkboard) method suggested by Brookter. I've customised the layout for my own use, but the basic built-in layout did well until I learned enough to understand how I wanted to tweak it.

Hope this helps!
So you know where I'm coming from:
  • I'm a user, not an L&L employee.
  • Mac Scrivener 3.1.3, MacBook Air 11, MacOS 10.14.6 (Mojave)
  • IOS Scrivener 1.2; iPhone 8 Plus, iOS 12.4.1; iPad 6th gen, iOS 12.4.1

Ja
Jack Daniel
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:54 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:10 pm Post

Well, this is highly interesting.

Are you sure you are using Scrivener and not some knock off? (maybe I'm using the knock off).

It sure doesn't seem like this is what I am seeing. First, as I stated, I neither write nor use synopses, hardly at all. Sometimes, but I rarely want or need them.

This means that the words of text I am seeing on the cards are not the synopses, because there are no synopses the way I write.

Second, the text I see on the card matches exactly the first couple paragraphs of the actual text. I find that helpful, but it I could scroll the entire text inside the card, that would be even better. Word would begin to look even weaker than it already does ( I only used it under protest, at work),

My best guess would be this: The card defaults to early paragraphs of the text until there is a synopsis written, which then replaces the text. That would at least make sense, working the same way the titles of documents work, where until you type in a title, it uses the first words of the text. Since I have no synopses, it also makes sense why there is no intuitive leap made when I don't see them on the cards. IOW, I am seeing one thing, while you are seeing another, because in my writing, there are no synopses, and in yours, there is.

This would also explain why the text disappears from the card (Grrrr!) when I click on it. Scrivener then thinks 'Oh, Jack wants to write a synopsis now! I'll just move this text out of the way for him!' (Jack does not want to write a synopsis now)

That's all really brilliant, as is nearly everything about Scrivener, but the ability to show the actual text on the cards could be set as a preference, which would work much better for those of us who feel no need to write synopses. Maybe Scrivener 4. Or 3.2

So I'll have to try to sort through your ideas and see what the actual disconnect here is. But I do so appreciate the feedback, these forums are awesome, and so are the posters.

br
brookter
Posts: 1911
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:14 pm Post

Silverdragon wrote:Actually, the auto-fill from main text command doesn't load the entire main text into the synopses, but only the first N characters ( I think about 500.) Like JackDaniel, I prefer to not apply real synopses to any documents save those which are true outline documents, in which case the synopsis is my outline.

@JackDaniel, I recommend the Windows > Layouts > Three-Pane (Corkboard) method suggested by Brookter. I've customised the layout for my own use, but the basic built-in layout did well until I learned enough to understand how I wanted to tweak it.

Hope this helps!


You're right -- thanks!

br
brookter
Posts: 1911
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:28 pm Post

Jack Daniel wrote:
Second, the text I see on the card matches exactly the first couple paragraphs of the actual text. I find that helpful, but it I could scroll the entire text inside the card, that would be even better. Word would begin to look even weaker than it already does ( I only used it under protest, at work),

My best guess would be this: The card defaults to early paragraphs of the text until there is a synopsis written, which then replaces the text. That would at least make sense, working the same way the titles of documents work, where until you type in a title, it uses the first words of the text. Since I have no synopses, it also makes sense why there is no intuitive leap made when I don't see them on the cards. IOW, I am seeing one thing, while you are seeing another, because in my writing, there are no synopses, and in yours, there is.


This is indeed how it's supposed to work. You can see the same effect if you don't explicitly give new documents a title -- the first few words will be used instead (in italics, IIRC).

This would also explain why the text disappears from the card (Grrrr!) when I click on it. Scrivener then thinks 'Oh, Jack wants to write a synopsis now! I'll just move this text out of the way for him!' (Jack does not want to write a synopsis now)

That's all really brilliant, as is nearly everything about Scrivener, but the ability to show the actual text on the cards could be set as a preference, which would work much better for those of us who feel no need to write synopses. Maybe Scrivener 4. Or 3.2


If you did that, then you'd lose all the formatting from the 'main text in the synopses' (italics, bold, colour) -- synopses are plain text. Synopses aren't meant to hold the whole text -- just as you don't (can't!) usually put the whole text of a chapter on the front of a paper card -- they're supposed to hold a brief summary of what it's the main text. Scrivener tries to be helpful by showing the first x words, but it's an indicator as to content, not the content itself. If you want to see the main text as you shuffle the documents around, then you use the other methods we've been suggesting in this thread.

But one other thing for you to consider -- if I've understood what you want to do is just to see the text as you move documents up and down, and you aren't bothered about synopses, why don't you just use the binder and the editor? You can drag and drop documents to their new position (or use cmd-ctl-up/down), while still having full access to the main text.

So I'll have to try to sort through your ideas and see what the actual disconnect here is. But I do so appreciate the feedback, these forums are awesome, and so are the posters.


You are most welcome.

User avatar
kewms
Posts: 5160
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:31 pm Post

Jack Daniel wrote:My best guess would be this: The card defaults to early paragraphs of the text until there is a synopsis written, which then replaces the text. That would at least make sense, working the same way the titles of documents work, where until you type in a title, it uses the first words of the text. Since I have no synopses, it also makes sense why there is no intuitive leap made when I don't see them on the cards. IOW, I am seeing one thing, while you are seeing another, because in my writing, there are no synopses, and in yours, there is.

This would also explain why the text disappears from the card (Grrrr!) when I click on it. Scrivener then thinks 'Oh, Jack wants to write a synopsis now! I'll just move this text out of the way for him!' (Jack does not want to write a synopsis now).


Yes, this is exactly how it works. This behavior is new in Scrivener 3 for Mac and iOS Scrivener, so users with other versions of the program will see different things.

Katherine
Scrivener Support Team