Spaces not recognised in Full Project Search

an
andy@a-o.co.uk
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:52 am
Platform: Windows

Sun Feb 02, 2020 9:09 pm Post

If you want to search for the word "tin" (noun) as opposed to anything containing the three letters ...tin.. (continue, exacting, etc.) you will have great difficulty in Full Project Search.

If you add a space after tin ("tin ") it doesn't recognise the space.
Better still would be to have a "whole word only" option.

User avatar
rdale
Posts: 2146
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 1:07 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Mon Feb 03, 2020 2:22 pm Post

Have you tried the "Whole Word" option? It's selectable when you click on the loupe icon within the search field.
FKA: robertdguthrie
AKA: R Dale Guthrie, Robert, Mr. Obscure, and "Oh, it's you again".

User avatar
michaelhendrsn
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:23 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Warburton, VIC, Aus
Contact:

Mon Feb 03, 2020 9:15 pm Post

Thanks for that... and now I know what a loupe is as well!

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1542
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:49 am Post

When searching for spaces at the start/end of a word , I would recommend using RegEx.
At the moment leading/trailing spaces are automatically trimmed as they are treated as separators for multi-word searches. You can also try using double quotes and put the spaces within the quotes.

Qt RegEx documentation can be found: https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qregularexpression.html