Formatting paragraph issue with tab

Ta
Tamsley
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 4:36 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Jan 21, 2016 7:46 pm Post

Hi, there

Hope you can help with this issue.
My problem is about the tab. Please, see the images. On Scrivener the first line of the paragraph seems to be ok. But when I compile to .mobi or docx. that line suffer a problem. The first paragraph is fine, but the first line of the second paragraph is not in the right place.

My problem is only in that section. The rest of chapters are fine.

Ideas?

Thanks for your help.
Attachments
Captura de pantalla 2016-01-21 a las 20.37.22.png
Captura de pantalla 2016-01-21 a las 20.37.22.png (456.16 KiB) Viewed 1965 times
Captura de pantalla 2016-01-21 a las 20.37.28.png
Captura de pantalla 2016-01-21 a las 20.37.28.png (968.64 KiB) Viewed 1965 times

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24311
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:13 pm Post

I think you are right, there is a tab character problem in text that is pushing the paragraphs over. I’d recommend the Format/Convert/Strip Leading Tabs menu command. And while you’re in that menu, you can show invisible characters as well, so you can verify if that is indeed the problem. The paragraphs that aren’t indenting correctly most likely have a blue arrow in front of them, that’s the tab character.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

Ta
Tamsley
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 4:36 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:41 pm Post

I did what you told me. Not quite sure if something has changed because of that, some paragraphs has to change manually. Anyway now everything is working fine.

Many thanks!!

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24311
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:09 pm Post

Yes, the effects of the command may not be easily visible in Scrivener, owing to how tabs and indents work in such a way that they can overlap. If for example you adjust your ruler so that the first tab stop is right on top of the first-line indent, in Scrivener the paragraph will look fine with the tab. But in something that renders tabs differently you can see it more clearly as an additional spacer after the indent, making it appear as though a correctly formatted document as acquiring double-sized indents when compiled.

Well that’s all trivia at this point, glad it’s working better now. :)
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

qw
qwrules
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:18 am
Platform: Mac

Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:03 am Post

Hello,

Hope it's OK to intrude on this thread; I have a similar issue. I followed the instructions given here and it worked a treat; I no longer have double indents after compiling for Word. But in Scrivener I have now lost all my indents and can no longer see whether I have indented a newly-written para correctly. Is it possible to have both--to compile correctly AND see indents on screen in Scriv?

Thanks so much.

User avatar
Merovech
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 2:54 am
Platform: Mac
Location: Virginia, USA
Contact:

Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:04 pm Post

Try this:

“Format -> Texts -> Indents -> Increase First Line Indents"

qw
qwrules
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:18 am
Platform: Mac

Tue Jan 26, 2016 9:08 pm Post

Thanks, that works! (When I first highlight all.) But it seems to have removed the non-indent of the first line of each chapter. Not possible to retain that?