[BUG] Menus are still rendering incorrectly - this was pointed out in the last release

Ja
JackSchaeffer
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:29 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Mar 22, 2021 12:01 am Post

The text for menu options is indented the width of TWO (2) icons instead of just one. This is making the text for the longest menu option to overwrite the short cut keys. I think this first appeared in RC20.

How can I find out if this is even being captured as a bug?

Ja
JackSchaeffer
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:29 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Mar 22, 2021 12:07 am Post

Here is a screen shot:
ScrivenerMenuIssue.jpg
ScrivenerMenuIssue.jpg (65.81 KiB) Viewed 477 times

An
AncientAbsentGod
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2021 12:03 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Mar 22, 2021 4:41 am Post

What OS version are you using? The menus look fine on my Surface Pro 6 and my desktop PC, both running the latest windows build.

ch
chrisdr2
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:09 am
Platform: Windows

Mon Mar 22, 2021 7:23 am Post

My Surface Pro 5 does the same on both the touch screen and external monitor. Wondering if it's related to a Scrivener setting, I've attached my settings and theme files..
Attachments
Scrivener Theme Options.prefs
(58.41 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
Scrivener Options.prefs
(58.54 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

User avatar
Charlson
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:16 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Mon Mar 22, 2021 10:05 am Post

I also seem to see the "extra" indenting, but not the cutting off of the menu shortcuts.

I have no idea if this is related (and possibly a clue to what is going on), but I'm set up to use v1 shortcuts (so I don't see a shortcut for Save and Rebuild Search Indexes, for example.)
Thanks,

Micah
ex-programmer and devoted fan

Scrivener for Windows 3
Version 3.0.0.0 (1238528) 64-bit - 23 Mar 2021
running on Windows 10 Home


Scrivener for Windows
Version 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019
running on Windows 10 Home

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1548
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Mon Mar 22, 2021 11:39 am Post

Yes, this is a known problem with the Theme style sheets which is not easy to fix unfortunately. We tried fixing it few times, but the result caused bigger issues. We will give it another try when we have less pressing issues to fix.

ch
chrisdr2
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:09 am
Platform: Windows

Mon Mar 22, 2021 1:32 pm Post

tiho_d wrote:Yes, this is a know problem with the Theme style sheets which is not easy to fix unfortunately. We tried fixing it few times, but the result caused bigger issues. We will give it another try when we have less pressing issues to fix.


I see what you mean, the poblem goes away if I change back to the default theme.

Ja
JackSchaeffer
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:29 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Mar 22, 2021 3:35 pm Post

I reverted back to the Default theme from the Dark theme and the menu rendering is fine. I think I changed to the Dark theme around the time RC20 was released, which gave me the impression it was a "new" issue, not a "known" issue.