speech doesnt work

mi
mik
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 2:24 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Dec 29, 2020 9:21 pm Post

clicking the speak button does not read any text.

Wi
Wickedinsignia
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 6:32 am
Platform: Mac

Wed Dec 30, 2020 5:46 am Post

Hi Mik! This works fine for me when I click "Start Speech". I am on MacOS.
Could you provide more information about the exact situation in which speech is not working?
Could you also provide your Scrivener version and operating system?
This would help the team decipher your issue.

In the meantime, please make sure that your computer audio is turned on and connected to a speaker/headphones, and that you're using the latest version of Scrivener.

User avatar
xiamenese
Posts: 4714
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:32 am
Platform: Mac
Location: London or Exeter, UK.

Wed Dec 30, 2020 12:51 pm Post

As @Mik has posted this in the Windows Beta testing forum—along with other posts—it is clear s/he is using the v.3 Beta on Windows.

:D
The Scrivenato sometimes known as Mr X.
M1 MacBook Air (2021), 11.2.2, 16GB RAM, !TB SSID
iMac 27" (late 2015) 10.15.7, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSID
2017 iPad, iPadOS 14.3, 128GB, Apple Pencil
Scrivener, Scapple, Nisus Writer Pro, Bookends …

pl
plmillernc
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 5:53 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Jan 01, 2021 4:51 pm Post

The speech works on my beta Windows edition. However, I have to go to the menu to start, pause or stop it since my keyboard does not have a Meta key, such as you would find on other keyboards. So my issue is: what keyboard shortcut works for speech for a non-Meta keyboard?

mi
mik
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2020 2:24 pm
Platform: Windows

Wed Jan 06, 2021 8:46 pm Post

I've never even heard of a Meta key....I assumed that was a mistake in the manual and meant CTRL.

I'm launching from the right click menu.

I've noticed that it works if I change my system playback device to use a USB headset instead of a hdmi connected monitor, then the audio does come through the headset. I can't see a reason for this though, as all other software can output to the hdmi without a problem.

Presumably Scrivenar is ignoring the windows specified playback device and instead choosing one at random and then failing to expose that option to the end user. This could explain why it only works on one playback device.

BC
BClarke
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:58 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Longmont, CO, USA

Wed Jan 06, 2021 9:29 pm Post

mik wrote:I've never even heard of a Meta key....I assumed that was a mistake in the manual and meant CTRL.


I believe that on Windows, the Windows key functions as the Meta key.

Ca
CarlosS
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2021 7:15 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Jan 19, 2021 8:17 pm Post

I never heard about the existence of the Meta key in Windows neither :lol:
And yes, in a Windows keyboard it works pressing the "Windows" key.

I think changing "Meta" with "Win" would be easier to understand for the mortals.

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Wed Jan 20, 2021 12:17 am Post

CarlosS wrote:I never heard about the existence of the Meta key in Windows neither :lol:
And yes, in a Windows keyboard it works pressing the "Windows" key.

I think changing "Meta" with "Win" would be easier to understand for the mortals.

In aligning the Windows and Mac versions, Meta is defined as the Apple or Windows key as appropriate. Perhaps a glossary entry to clear things up.
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 20H2
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 2.9.9.19 Beta (1214272) 64-bit - 27 Feb 2021

sh
shaun
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:45 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Thu Jan 21, 2021 7:17 am Post

Jestar wrote:
CarlosS wrote:I never heard about the existence of the Meta key in Windows neither :lol:
And yes, in a Windows keyboard it works pressing the "Windows" key.

I think changing "Meta" with "Win" would be easier to understand for the mortals.

In aligning the Windows and Mac versions, Meta is defined as the Apple or Windows key as appropriate. Perhaps a glossary entry to clear things up.


Using Cmd (or ⌘) and Win is clearer.

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1517
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Thu Jan 21, 2021 7:58 am Post

The “Meta” shortcut key text is generated by the Qt framework. This is probably the correct key name, but we understand this might be confusing for the majority of users and “Win” would have been easier to understand. Unfortunately changing “Meta” to “Win” is not that easy.