What Happened in Release Candidate 7 GUI

cS
cStuartHardwick
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 12:37 am
Platform: Linux

Thu Jun 18, 2020 4:28 am Post

I "upgraded" to Version: 2.9.9.7 Beta (955095) 64-bit - 13 Jun 2020 and now all the menu labels have been replaced with silly scifi stand ins. Is this someone's idea of a joke?

The top menu is "Command, Maneuvers, Slice, Bridge, Mavigation, Mission, Data Files, Helm, Console.
Instead of "empty trash" we have "open airlock," etc., etc.

It's completely unusable and distracing--and a waste of my time. How do I make this gone?

>> Followup--After the update to 2.9.9.7 and the above mentioned problems, I uninstalled Scrivener and after refreshing the program list in add programs to find a Scrivener 2.9.9.7 entry that cannot be uninstalled (uinstall is grayed out).

>> Second Followup--Reinstalling 2.9.9.7 seems to have resolved it. Leaving the question here for informational purposes. Also for informational purposes.

Online
User avatar
kewms
Posts: 7587
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:35 am Post

Moved to beta forum. -- Katherine
Scrivener Support Team

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1548
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Thu Jun 18, 2020 6:47 am Post

Most likely you have switched to the SciFi GUI language translation, without realizing it.

User avatar
jje
Posts: 372
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:57 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Sussex, UK

Thu Jun 18, 2020 7:16 am Post

There’s a Sci-Fi GUI language?? Make it so!

EM
EMPisek
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 2:05 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Jun 18, 2020 4:05 pm Post

Data hacked you. :roll:
:arrow: I'm not just a tester,.. I'm a user :!:

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 434
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Thu Jun 18, 2020 4:58 pm Post

jje wrote:There’s a Sci-Fi GUI language?? Make it so!

Options (F12) -> General -> Language -> Science Fiction
Annotation 2020-06-18 095020.png
GUI Languages
Annotation 2020-06-18 095020.png (30.6 KiB) Viewed 1313 times

Before you change it back from SciFi, check out the other languages. :)
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 20H2
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 3.0.1.0 (1274136) 64-bit - 28 Apr 2021

cS
cStuartHardwick
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2014 12:37 am
Platform: Linux

Thu Jun 18, 2020 6:56 pm Post

tiho_d wrote:Most likely you have switched to the SciFi GUI language translation, without realizing it.

Okay...I guess that makes sense...this happened after an attempt to run the "technology update" clocked for a couple of hours when we were having slow internet service, so I can well imaging that happened as part of the aborted upgrade.

The question is--and I ask this as a lifelong scifi fan and 30 year professional software developer--why the hell is that a thing that exists? Localization is important. Letting users make silly, pointless GUI changes that render the interface unusable is just dumb....which is what I said that time I had a client take a "Windows Class" and set their GUI to display white text on a while background.

User avatar
DavidR
Posts: 878
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:21 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:54 pm Post

A fair question, Stuart. My question would be, is this limited to SciFi, and if so, why? Couldn't there be an interface "dialect" for, say, political conspiracy fiction (File = Top Secret, Edit = Encrypt, View = Eyes Only, etc.; Empty Trash = "Shred with Extreme Prejudice); or romance novels (I blush even to think about it :oops: ).
David
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.9
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

What's the difference between a free lance and a loose cannon?

User avatar
xiamenese
Posts: 4800
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:32 am
Platform: Mac
Location: London or Exeter, UK.

Thu Jun 18, 2020 9:25 pm Post

cStuartHardwick wrote:
tiho_d wrote:Most likely you have switched to the SciFi GUI language translation, without realizing it.

Okay...I guess that makes sense...this happened after an attempt to run the "technology update" clocked for a couple of hours when we were having slow internet service, so I can well imaging that happened as part of the aborted upgrade.

The question is--and I ask this as a lifelong scifi fan and 30 year professional software developer--why the hell is that a thing that exists? Localization is important. Letting users make silly, pointless GUI changes that render the interface unusable is just dumb....which is what I said that time I had a client take a "Windows Class" and set their GUI to display white text on a while background.

The answer is: many years ago, one of the regular users at the time—I can't remember who—created it for fun and posted it for others to play with. I rather wonder if s/he's still using it! But clearly, it's still there as an option.

:)

Mark
The Scrivenato sometimes known as Mr X.
M1 MacBook Air (2021), 11.3, 16GB RAM, !TB SSID
iMac 27" (late 2015) 11.3, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSID
2017 iPad, iPadOS 14.5 128GB, Apple Pencil
Scrivener, Scapple, Nisus Writer Pro, Bookends …

Online
User avatar
kewms
Posts: 7587
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Thu Jun 18, 2020 9:47 pm Post

Using a "fake" language also makes it possible to test the localization mechanisms before the "real" translations are done. Using a clearly fake language prevents confusion: you might not know if you're in the "test" or "actual" French interface, but Scifi is obvious.

Plus it's fun.

Katherine
Scrivener Support Team

EM
EMPisek
Posts: 179
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 2:05 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Jun 18, 2020 11:29 pm Post

kewms wrote:Using a "fake" language also makes it possible to test the localization mechanisms before the "real" translations are done. Using a clearly fake language prevents confusion: you might not know if you're in the "test" or "actual" French interface, but Scifi is obvious.

Plus it's fun.

Katherine


Honestly, it breaks the monotony at times as it causes the mind to think more on what is what and where. It's like how people would change the pointer to something different. It was their machine after all although I won't go on about Clippy. Also you will be "Assimilated".

Now about that StarWars layout. May the farce be with you.
:arrow: I'm not just a tester,.. I'm a user :!:

User avatar
Scribblette
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:49 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Jun 19, 2020 3:25 am Post

I think it's hilariously awesome that this exists. I hadn't stumbled across it. Now I totally have to try it out.

ch
chrisdr2
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:09 am
Platform: Windows

Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:19 am Post

I got up at 6am to make an early start on draft editing - then I read this :-)
Aye aye captain.

User avatar
pigfender
Posts: 2932
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 10:25 am
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: I share a head with a great many personalities
Contact:

Fri Mar 19, 2021 2:06 pm Post

The original joke was to have an option in the settings to engage "Sci Fi mode" and have the only difference be a single line added to the title bar that says "Sci Fi mode engaged". Like many things, it spiralled from there. The interface has LOTS of sci fi references to classic movies and books, although some of my absolute favourites are embedded in the error messages so you'll have to be having a pretty bad day to see most of them!

There (was? is?) a plan to update it properly for v3, but for obvious reasons that's not something anyone thought would be a sensible distraction from getting v3 itself was ready for release.
http://www.pigfender.com | http://www.novelinaday.com
"Some dice only have sixes." nom, 19 Oct 2013
Image Image

MG
MG Martin
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 11:50 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + Linux

Sat Mar 20, 2021 12:11 pm Post

I love it and wish there were other amusing options or an easy way to make my own.

What can I say? I'm easily amused.