Navigation FROM Corkboard, or TO Outline/Corkboard.

Sc
Scrivictim
Platform: Windows

Sun Jun 14, 2020 11:11 pm Post

I'm on my first few days of the Beta. First off, this is a huge improvement on 1.x. I especially like the preview in Corkboard if I don't have a synopsis, and the more flexible window handling. But I'm not finding switching to/from the corkboard intuitive.

My Binder looks like this:
Level 1. Draft
Level 2. (Book1)
Level 3. (Book 1 chapters)
Level 2. (Book 2)
Level 1. Research
Level 1. Trash

So, most of the time, I'm at Level 3, in a book chapter. My Level 2 (Book 1) Corkboard is where I want the corkboard to set to.

But when I Ctrl-2 inside a document, it treats that document as the corkboard root. I.e. it shows empty.

Perhaps I've been misunderstanding Scrivener for the last eight months, but I use the corkboard / synopsis for chapter summaries, so if I go to Corkboard view, I want a level above the text documents.

On the bright side, I can (see Options below) double-click that bizarrely-empty corkboard to get to the desired one. 8) But it's not clear why that's required. And it requires I reach for my mouse; as a writer, I use the keyboard.

Which brings me to the other issue: I sort-of expect to be able to double-click or Ctrl-1 on an item in the corkboard to go to editing that specific text document, much as you would from the binder. I only figured this out just now while writing this up: If I double-click the tiny icon, it does, but otherwise, nothing. The double-click navigation should be easier to get to.

These issues apply to the Outline View Mode (Manual 4.2) also. View - Outline only outlines items below my current level. So if I'm at "(Book 1)" and enter Outline, I get the outline view, which is great. Double-click on an item, to jump to the Chapter. (Be careful to hit the icon; hit the text and you're editing the title or synopsis.) Ctrl-3 or View - Outline and you get an empty screen, because it's at the current level.