[NB] Quick Search Only Lists First Instance

sh
shaun
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:45 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Thu Jun 04, 2020 7:30 pm Post

If you use quick search, it only lists one instance of what you're searching for per document.

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Thu Jun 04, 2020 9:27 pm Post

This is by design, as the Quick Search only lists a limited number of results overall and so a single document won't be listed more than once. After you've loaded the document from the Quick Search, you can use F3 to jump through to each instance of that word within the text.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Fri Jun 05, 2020 12:49 am Post

MimeticMouton wrote:This is by design, as the Quick Search only lists a limited number of results overall and so a single document won't be listed more than once. After you've loaded the document from the Quick Search, you can use F3 to jump through to each instance of that word within the text.

Is the Quick Search scope limited to just the current document or more? Can the scope be changed or is that outside the design parameters of the "Quick Search"?
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 20H2
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 2.9.9.19 Beta (1214272) 64-bit - 27 Feb 2021

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Fri Jun 05, 2020 6:13 pm Post

Jestar wrote:
MimeticMouton wrote:This is by design, as the Quick Search only lists a limited number of results overall and so a single document won't be listed more than once. After you've loaded the document from the Quick Search, you can use F3 to jump through to each instance of that word within the text.

Is the Quick Search scope limited to just the current document or more? Can the scope be changed or is that outside the design parameters of the "Quick Search"?

Sorry, never mind. Was going through the Interactive Tutorial and found the answer in the "Going Further" -> "Searching" section, and noticed the two places to do a search from. I was confused at first because both are on the toolbar and the "Quick Search Field" description is well below the actual picture and is not labeled the same ("toolbar search field" in one spot and "Toolbar Quick Search Field" in the other. I was looking for something else with a label that said "Quick Search". The Quick Search area is shown here:
Annotation 2020-06-05 105243.png
Quick Search Field
Annotation 2020-06-05 105243.png (22.1 KiB) Viewed 115 times

And a quick search for Outline (typed in "Out") brings up this:
Annotation 2020-06-05 105448.png
Quick Search - Outline
Annotation 2020-06-05 105448.png (37.16 KiB) Viewed 115 times

The other search area (the "Toolbar Magnifying Glass Button") is where you can specify/define the scope you want to use. And the F3 keypress to find the next occurrence within a document works for both types of search.
Annotation 2020-06-05 105719.png
Magnifying Glass Search - Outline
Annotation 2020-06-05 105719.png (106.52 KiB) Viewed 115 times
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 20H2
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 2.9.9.19 Beta (1214272) 64-bit - 27 Feb 2021