How to access Linguistic Focus?

jw
jwhitten
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2019 6:42 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Apr 09, 2020 2:30 am Post

I watched a video where they were using Scrivener and using 'Linguistic Focus'. Can someone tell me how to access this mode?

Thanks

Ji
JimRac
Posts: 1595
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:06 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Thu Apr 09, 2020 2:53 am Post

I’m just a customer.

User avatar
xiamenese
Posts: 4326
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:32 am
Platform: Mac
Location: London or Exeter, UK.

Thu Apr 09, 2020 7:36 am Post

Just to pour oil on potentially troubled waters, linguistic focus is provided by MacOS, Scrivener merely has to call it. Windows/Qt doesn’t provide an equivalent. That's why it’s Mac only.

:)

Mark
The Scrivenato sometimes known as Mr X.
iMac 27" (late 2015) 10.15.4, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSID
MBP17" (late 2011) 10.13.6, 16GB RAM, 2TB SSID
2017 iPad, iPadOS 13.3, 128GB, Apple Pencil
Scrivener, Scapple, Nisus Writer Pro, Bookends …

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1166
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Thu Apr 09, 2020 10:27 am Post

We will provide some of these, like dialogues for example, but this will be at a later stage.

User avatar
DavidR
Posts: 837
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:21 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Apr 09, 2020 3:22 pm Post

Out of curiosity, I followed the link that JimRac supplied, and in that thread KB says that this is "a Mac feature that allows apps to ask for all the verbs, adverbs, nouns or whatever in a piece of text." Now I'm curious about what one does with this data. I'm also curious about whether it works right, i.e., whether the Mac, at the OS level, correctly tags words with grammatical info as they are typed. If I type "She cans cans of string beans, and I can too," will it correctly analyze the 3 "can" words, and identify "string" as a noun used attributively, i.e., functionally an adjective?

As for using the data, I guess if I got a list of all the verbs in my text, I could scan through it and say, "Wow, I didn't realize that I used the word 'realize' that often." I might blanch at the list of adverbs and say, "I use too damn many adverbs," and then blanch again because I have to remove "too" and "damn" from that very sentence, and this Adverb Slash-o-Matic seems not to improve it.

OK, sorry. Seriously, how are people using this tool?
David
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.9
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

What's the difference between a free lance and a loose cannon?

EM
EMPisek
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 2:05 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Apr 09, 2020 3:28 pm Post

I would use it to to cut back on the over abundance and reliability of over used words. It limits ones use as with not allowing the growth of thinking of newer or better ways of conveying what's in ones mind's eye because I would be heavily dependent on using just one method and not have any growth of my stories.

How many stories rely on 'get' as an example. Or how about 'it'. Its' (see) so easy to use it over and over again.
:arrow: I'm not just a tester,.. I'm a user :!:

wo
wordjoy
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 3:26 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:47 pm Post

Looking to redundant words I use ProWritingAid which opens Scrivner files. Shows the whole folder structure etc.
have even been using with with BETA.

User avatar
rdale
Posts: 1989
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 1:07 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:21 pm Post

DavidR wrote:Out of curiosity, I followed the link that JimRac supplied, and in that thread KB says that this is "a Mac feature that allows apps to ask for all the verbs, adverbs, nouns or whatever in a piece of text." Now I'm curious about what one does with this data. I'm also curious about whether it works right, i.e., whether the Mac, at the OS level, correctly tags words with grammatical info as they are typed. If I type "She cans cans of string beans, and I can too," will it correctly analyze the 3 "can" words, and identify "string" as a noun used attributively, i.e., functionally an adjective?

As for using the data, I guess if I got a list of all the verbs in my text, I could scan through it and say, "Wow, I didn't realize that I used the word 'realize' that often." I might blanch at the list of adverbs and say, "I use too damn many adverbs," and then blanch again because I have to remove "too" and "damn" from that very sentence, and this Adverb Slash-o-Matic seems not to improve it.

OK, sorry. Seriously, how are people using this tool?


It doesn't seem that sophisticated, but then again, are most grammar checkers all that good? I honestly don't know, because I never ever use them. But maybe I should. :?
Screenshot 2020-04-09 13.19.18.png
Screenshot 2020-04-09 13.19.18.png (108.13 KiB) Viewed 574 times
FKA: robertdguthrie
AKA: R Dale Guthrie, Robert, Mr. Obscure, and "Oh, it's you again".

Ji
JimRac
Posts: 1595
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:06 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:38 pm Post

"I'm not a noun, I'm a human being."
- JimRac
I’m just a customer.

User avatar
DavidR
Posts: 837
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:21 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:16 pm Post

rdale, thanks. Looks like it misses several nouns ("thread" near the beginning, "adjective" at the end), includes proper names, and misidentifies the first "cans" as a noun. It knows "string" is a noun, but can't identify its function as a modifier in "string beans." This doesn't look like tagging but an on-demand algorithm. Not bad for a machine, actually, but unless you were brutally overusing a particular word, it seems like you'd have to scan a lot of screens to find it.

On the whole, meh. I'm with you on grammar checkers and similar. You and John Henry: "before I'd let a machine beat me...." The things I do in nonstandard ways I mainly do on purpose; the actual mistakes keep editors employed, and that's a good thing. There is no substitute for knowing how to write the language you're writing in, in my absolutely non-humble opinion. But if grammar checkers help people do that, working themselves out of a job essentially, that's all to the good.
David
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.9
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

What's the difference between a free lance and a loose cannon?

ko
konssam
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:33 am
Platform: Windows

Sun Apr 12, 2020 8:03 pm Post

To people who think Windows cannot handle linguistic focus: something similar is included in the new Microsoft Edge browser, so sure thing Windows can handle it! Glad to hear that it will be coming to the Windows version of Scrivener sometime in the future.

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 1987
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272 (CN97au)
Contact:

Mon Apr 13, 2020 7:25 am Post

konssam wrote:To people who think Windows cannot handle linguistic focus: something similar is included in the new Microsoft Edge browser, so sure thing Windows can handle it! Glad to hear that it will be coming to the Windows version of Scrivener sometime in the future.


Hold on a moment.

Is it being included in the Windows OS, which the Edge browser is then taking advantage of, or is it being included directly in the new Edge browser?

Because the feature that Scrivener uses in the Mac relies on a function *provided by MacOS to all programs*.

If Microsoft is coding this "something similar" as a part of the new Edge browser, that doesn't mean it's likely to be accessible by other apps unless they integrate with Edge -- not the same situation at all.
--
Devin L. Ganger, WA7DLG
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Winner "Best in Class", 2018 My First Supervillain Photo Shoot

User avatar
AussieDoc
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 4:19 am
Platform: Windows

Thu May 28, 2020 9:23 am Post

It's great to see that the latest beta has 'Linguistic Focus'.

Can't wait to find out what it does - nothing in the manual yet.

But at least it gives me something else to play with ;-)

linguistic focus.PNG
linguistic focus.PNG (2.88 KiB) Viewed 168 times
Windows 10 Pro
Bought Scrivener 1.9.16.0 but loving 2.9.9.7 Beta
And I will write 500 words
And I will write 500 more...
:D

User avatar
krastev
Posts: 510
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 am
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Thu May 28, 2020 3:37 pm Post

AussieDoc wrote:It's great to see that the latest beta has 'Linguistic Focus'.

Can't wait to find out what it does - nothing in the manual yet.

But at least it gives me something else to play with ;-)

linguistic focus.PNG

It isolates the Direct Speech passages in the text so you can focus on them easily.
I love it! :mrgreen:
Krastev
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.16.0
Testing Scrivener Beta for Windows

User avatar
jje
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:57 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Sussex, UK

Thu May 28, 2020 3:50 pm Post

krastev wrote:
AussieDoc wrote:It's great to see that the latest beta has 'Linguistic Focus'.

Can't wait to find out what it does - nothing in the manual yet.

But at least it gives me something else to play with ;-)

linguistic focus.PNG

It isolates the Direct Speech passages in the text so you can focus on them easily.
I love it! :mrgreen:


Me too! As an academic writer, finding all your quotations so easily is excellent (nice easy way to check you've given sources, etc.)