[LH4336] Wrong capital "i" in Turkish

ao
aoztekin
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:00 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Sun Feb 02, 2020 4:45 pm Post

When starting to write a word by "i" is turns capital "I". But I want to write capital "i".

User avatar
magnoliasouth
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 10:16 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Feb 06, 2020 5:23 pm Post

That's auto-correct. Here is how to fix the problem.

Go to Tools > Options > Corrections.
Under "Auto-Capitalization" uncheck "Capitalize 'i'".

Good luck!

Jo
John Underwood
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 12:53 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Feb 07, 2020 1:53 pm Post

I am not sure that is the answer. I would expect the capitalisation of 'i' to apply to every occurrence of the letter 'i' which is not part of a word. I do want every single letter i to be changed to I. I do not want every occurrence of i to be changed to I.

ao
aoztekin
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:00 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Fri Feb 07, 2020 8:36 pm Post

magnoliasouth wrote:That's auto-correct. Here is how to fix the problem.

Go to Tools > Options > Corrections.
Under "Auto-Capitalization" uncheck "Capitalize 'i'".

Good luck!


NOT WORKS!!!

Thanks for your help but it is not work. Open a new document and click the first line and try to write "instant" and press space buton. Auto correction makes the first chracter of the first words uppercase (instant --> Instant) but I want to write "İnstant". When auto correction try to make uppercase the first chracter of the first words it changes to "I" not "İ".

User avatar
DavidR
Posts: 878
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:21 am
Platform: Windows

Fri Feb 07, 2020 9:15 pm Post

It sounds like it is capitalizing the first word of every sentence or paragraph. Try going to Tools > Options > Corrections, and then under "Auto-Capitalization" uncheck "Fix capitalization of sentences."
David
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.9
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

What's the difference between a free lance and a loose cannon?

User avatar
haep
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:29 am
Platform: Win + iOS

Fri Feb 07, 2020 10:20 pm Post

NOT WORKS!!!

Thanks for your help but it is not work. Open a new document and click the first line and try to write "instant" and press space buton. Auto correction makes the first chracter of the first words uppercase (instant --> Instant) but I want to write "İnstant". When auto correction try to make uppercase the first chracter of the first words it changes to "I" not "İ".[/quote]

Hi!, What is your keyboard layout? Because the uppercase for my "i" is "I" and I didn't even know there's another symbol for i = I <> İ ? (uppercase "i" with point)
Windows 10 home 20H2
Intel(R) Core i7-7500U CPU 2.7GHz 2.9 GHz 8.00GB RAM
SSD 500GB
15" 1920x1080 at 125% zoom
23" 1920x1080 at 100% zoom
32" 1920x1080 at 125% zoom

IPhone 8 Plus IOS 14.5
IPad Pro 12.9” third gen. IOS 13.5.1

ao
aoztekin
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:00 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Fri Feb 07, 2020 10:38 pm Post

DavidR wrote:It sounds like it is capitalizing the first word of every sentence or paragraph. Try going to Tools > Options > Corrections, and then under "Auto-Capitalization" uncheck "Fix capitalization of sentences."


Thanks, David. But the problem is not "how can I make the first character of the first words in lowercase". The problem is Auto-capitalization is not working for capital "İ". When I write "insan" ('human' in Turkish), "i" chracter should be change to "İnsan" by the auto-capitalization.

ao
aoztekin
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:00 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Fri Feb 07, 2020 10:49 pm Post

haep wrote:NOT WORKS!!!

Thanks for your help but it is not work. Open a new document and click the first line and try to write "instant" and press space buton. Auto correction makes the first chracter of the first words uppercase (instant --> Instant) but I want to write "İnstant". When auto correction try to make uppercase the first chracter of the first words it changes to "I" not "İ".


Hi!, What is your keyboard layout? Because the uppercase for my "i" is "I" and I didn't even know there's another symbol for i = I <> İ ? (uppercase "i" with point)[/quote]

Hi haep, thank you for helping me. My keyboard layout is Turkish. In Turkish alphabet we use lowercase "ı" uppercase "I" and lowercase "i" uppercase "İ" these are the two different letters :D lowercase and uppercase "ı"-->"I" and "i"-->"İ" :lol:

User avatar
DavidR
Posts: 878
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:21 am
Platform: Windows

Sat Feb 08, 2020 12:23 am Post

aoztekin wrote:
DavidR wrote:It sounds like it is capitalizing the first word of every sentence or paragraph. Try going to Tools > Options > Corrections, and then under "Auto-Capitalization" uncheck "Fix capitalization of sentences."


Thanks, David. But the problem is not "how can I make the first character of the first words in lowercase". The problem is Auto-capitalization is not working for capital "İ". When I write "insan" ('human' in Turkish), "i" chracter should be change to "İnsan" by the auto-capitalization.

Thank you. That's clear now, and I apologize for the misunderstanding. It sounds as if the beta is somehow not working properly with the Turkish keyboard. Are there other characters unique to Turkish that have this problem?
David
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.9
Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

What's the difference between a free lance and a loose cannon?

ao
aoztekin
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:00 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Sat Feb 08, 2020 12:39 pm Post

DavidR wrote:
aoztekin wrote:
DavidR wrote:It sounds like it is capitalizing the first word of every sentence or paragraph. Try going to Tools > Options > Corrections, and then under "Auto-Capitalization" uncheck "Fix capitalization of sentences."


Thanks, David. But the problem is not "how can I make the first character of the first words in lowercase". The problem is Auto-capitalization is not working for capital "İ". When I write "insan" ('human' in Turkish), "i" chracter should be change to "İnsan" by the auto-capitalization.

Thank you. That's clear now, and I apologize for the misunderstanding. It sounds as if the beta is somehow not working properly with the Turkish keyboard. Are there other characters unique to Turkish that have this problem?



Hi,
Only the cahracter "i" have a problem in Turkish alphabet. Auto-Capitalization turns "i" to "I" but it should be "İ".
Thanks for your interest.

ao
aoztekin
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:00 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Feb 11, 2020 5:55 pm Post

aoztekin wrote:
DavidR wrote:
aoztekin wrote:
Thanks, David. But the problem is not "how can I make the first character of the first words in lowercase". The problem is Auto-capitalization is not working for capital "İ". When I write "insan" ('human' in Turkish), "i" chracter should be change to "İnsan" by the auto-capitalization.

Thank you. That's clear now, and I apologize for the misunderstanding. It sounds as if the beta is somehow not working properly with the Turkish keyboard. Are there other characters unique to Turkish that have this problem?



Hi,
Only the cahracter "i" have a problem in Turkish alphabet. Auto-Capitalization turns "i" to "I" but it should be "İ".
Thanks for your interest.



Hi,
In the new beta update explanation, it was written that the Capitalize "İ" problem in non-English languages was resolved, but unfortunately it still continues.
Auto-Capitalization still can't write the capital letter "İ". Auto-Capitalization turns "i" to "I" but it should be "İ".

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1548
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Feb 11, 2020 6:29 pm Post

The fix will not convert single “i” into “l” for non English languages. The auto-capitalization of “i” at the beginning of a word for Turkish, is not an easy fix. The upper case of the latin letter “i” is “l”. Any other language specific upper case conversion, will not be handled in Scrivener, but most likely through the keyboard layout driver. Hope you understand.

User avatar
krastev
Posts: 591
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 am
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:16 pm Post

tiho_d wrote:The upper case of the latin letter “i” is “l”.

How is L the uppercase for i? Am I missing something?
Krastev
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.16.0
Testing Scrivener Beta for Windows

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1548
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:29 pm Post

@ krastev: “I” this is upper case i, not L.
Some fonts though have the same character for small caps of L, which is “l” but looks the same.
There are even famous programming bugs, due to this character font similarity.

ao
aoztekin
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:00 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Feb 11, 2020 9:24 pm Post

tiho_d wrote:The fix will not convert single “i” into “l” for non English languages. The auto-capitalization of “i” at the beginning of a word for Turkish, is not an easy fix. The upper case of the latin letter “i” is “l”. Any other language specific upper case conversion, will not be handled in Scrivener, but most likely through the keyboard layout driver. Hope you understand.


Hi,
I am sorry but I couldn't fully understand. Do you mean that L&L will not do anything to solve this bug? Or do you mean that this fix of the bug is not an easy task and have I to wait?