[B34] Inspector panel doesn't resize properly

User avatar
jje
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:57 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Sussex, UK

Sun Jan 19, 2020 10:39 am Post

I recognise that this is a really trivial issue, but I do find it irritating, since I have to fix it every single time I use Scrivener.

The X that allows you to delete a footnote, disappears if the Inspector panel is too narrow. What's maddening is that I constantly drag the column to make it wide enough to see the X, but Scrivener always seems to default to a setting that's fractionally too narrow when I reopen it.

This is how it should appear:
screenshot3.jpg
screenshot3.jpg (164.97 KiB) Viewed 148 times


But if the Inspector is too narrow, you get this:
screenshot1.jpg
screenshot1.jpg (170.21 KiB) Viewed 148 times


What makes me think this a bug, is that if the Inspector is not quite wide enough, you see the X half hidden, like this, and the text is slightly cut off, instead of wrapping properly:
screenshot2.jpg
screenshot2.jpg (166.13 KiB) Viewed 148 times


I think the X should always be visible, and the text should always wrap no matter what width the Inspector is.

User avatar
xiamenese
Posts: 4127
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:32 am
Platform: Mac
Location: London or Exeter, UK.

Sun Jan 19, 2020 11:42 am Post

Have you tried saving the layout when you have the inspextor widened enough to see the X?

I'm on Mac, and don't know if Windows 3 will re-open in the saved layout it was in when closed, but I think it'd be worth a try.

Window > Layouts > Manage Layouts…

:)

Mark
The Scrivenato sometimes known as Mr X.
iMac 27" (late 2015) 10.15.2, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSID
MBP17" (late 2011) 10.13.6, 16GB RAM, 2TB SSID
2017 iPad, iPadOS 13.3, 128GB, Apple Pencil
Scrivener, Scapple, Nisus Writer Pro, Bookends …

User avatar
jje
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:57 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Sussex, UK

Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:44 am Post

Thanks for the suggestion, but sadly that doesn't work. I re-sized the Inspector so that the X showed. Saved the layout, closed and reopened Scrivener -- same problem. Even selecting "manage layouts" and applying the saved one doesn't fix it.

User avatar
xiamenese
Posts: 4127
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:32 am
Platform: Mac
Location: London or Exeter, UK.

Mon Jan 20, 2020 12:38 pm Post

Sorry to hear that. One for Tiho and LAP then.

:)

Mark
The Scrivenato sometimes known as Mr X.
iMac 27" (late 2015) 10.15.2, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSID
MBP17" (late 2011) 10.13.6, 16GB RAM, 2TB SSID
2017 iPad, iPadOS 13.3, 128GB, Apple Pencil
Scrivener, Scapple, Nisus Writer Pro, Bookends …

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:48 pm Post

jje wrote:Thanks for the suggestion, but sadly that doesn't work. I re-sized the Inspector so that the X showed. Saved the layout, closed and reopened Scrivener -- same problem. Even selecting "manage layouts" and applying the saved one doesn't fix it.

[B35] I was trying to replicate this, thinking it was related to this https://www.literatureandlatte.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=60184 - it isn't - and found a different strangeness going on. The first thing I noted was the little "x" only showed up when I had the mouse pointer hovering over a footnote. My screengrab doesn't show the mouse pointer, so I can't show it.
footnotes1.png
Footnotes screengrab 1
footnotes1.png (8.44 KiB) Viewed 55 times
. Next, I found that there is a sweet spot before you get a horizontal scrollbar to appear, after which the wordwrap no longer works and, unless you have the horizontal scrollbar set to the far right, you cannot see the little "x" show up.
footnotes2.png
Footnote screen grab 2
footnotes2.png (11.46 KiB) Viewed 55 times
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 1909
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 2.9.0.39 Beta (838542) 64-bit - 17 Feb 2020