Page 1 of 1

[LH4234] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:46 pm
by rgletter
Here is a bug I'm reporting for Win Beta 32.

Click "Search the Project"
Enter the value to search (in my case it is "technology"
Make sure its something within your documents.
Press "F3"
Message displayed "Not Found".

Also, the last entry for searching brought up a title page I have that does not contain the word "technology". The other 3 documents were correct.

Re: Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 12:49 pm
by MimeticMouton
Unless you limited your project search scope to the document text, the project search would return documents that contained your search term in metadata, synopsis, title, notes, etc. Might your title page document have included the term somewhere outside the main text? You might try narrowing the parameters (click the magnifying glass icon in the project search bar to bring up the menu) and see how that alters the results.

The "Not Found" issue might be the same cause--if the document in the editor didn't contain the term within the main text, F3 (the "Find Next" shortcut for document find) would not return any results. Also note that running a project search does not change the document currently loaded in the editor, so that document (which received the focus of F3) might not have been part of the results.

If neither of these addresses the issue, try rebuilding the project's search index via the command in the File menu.

Re: [JH] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Thu Jan 09, 2020 8:31 pm
by liz
I'm having trouble with global search too. All of my saved search collections (keywords) are returning empty, as is any new global search for a label, keyword, or status. Clicking "rebuild the search index doesn't help," and I'm not even sure it does anything since it only briefly opens a blank popup.

Re: [JH] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:44 am
by Jez
Likewise re collections. I had half a dozen saved collections each linked to a Status List and since updating to Beta 33 these are now all empty. I no longer seem to be able to search on Status List (which I have renamed as Tier) or on Labels (renamed as POV).

Re: [JH] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:50 am
by MimeticMouton
Are you using the RegEx search operator for these searches, or something else (or a mix of other things)? For the saved searches, if you click the magnifying glass in the search field to pull up the menu, are all the correct lines still checked marked?

If someone could share a sample project demonstrating the issue, that'd be great. You can either attach it here as a zip file or mail it to win3beta@literatureandlatte.com with a link to this thread. Thank you!

Re: [JH] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:59 am
by Jez
I am searching via the ticked components in the dropdown. For the saved collections all the right ticks were in place though I have now deleted my collections as I hoped I could easily recreate from scratch. Unfortunately I'm unable to share the project.

Re: [JH] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 4:53 pm
by SteveCarterFrogstory
In Beta 33, any search for keywords, labels, or status fails. I've tried every combination of ticks I can think of -- all the operators, included documents, excluded documents.

To make sure it wasn't specific to existing projects, I deleted the Interactive Tutorial directory that I'd created from Beta 32 and created a new Interactive Tutorial from the Beta 33 menu. Searching for labels, status, etc. Fails there.

@Mimetic Motion: Do global searches for status, etc, work for yo;u in the Interactive Tutorial with Beta 33?

Windows 7 Home Premium
Scrivener 2.9.0.33 Beta

Re: [JH] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 6:15 pm
by jo005597
Updated to Beta 33 and have the same issue with keyword searches. I have numerous keywords and if attempting to search using the search tool built into the keywords dialog (bottom right), OR by using the search tool filtered on keywords (top left) no documents are found in the search results.

Windows 10 Pro
Scrivener 2.9.0.33

Additional observation: General search for words anywhere (which works) is lightening fast. Was always quick but WOW!

Re: [JH] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 9:46 pm
by MimeticMouton
Thanks, guys, I've done some further testing with the different metadata types and filed a ticket for this. Hopefully we can get it resolved quickly.

Note, the ticket is only regarding the search failing to return proper results for different metadata types, not within the document text, synopsis, notes, or title. If you're running into problems with that not working, please post more details and ideally a sample project demonstrating the issue. Thank you!

Re: [LH4234] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2020 9:52 pm
by Jez
Thanks MM :)

Re: [LH4234] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 7:50 pm
by liz
It's really inconvenient not having those searches. Is it possible to roll back to an earlier version until this is resolved? Which version should I roll back to?

Re: [JH] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:03 pm
by jo005597
MimeticMouton wrote:Thanks, guys, I've done some further testing with the different metadata types and filed a ticket for this. Hopefully we can get it resolved quickly.


Appreciate the response. Knowing these reports are being read, and progress is being made is great! At the end of the day we are using a Beta product so things like this are to be expected. What separates you guys from many of the others is your willingness to be open and engage with your user community.

Re: [LH4234] Search and "F3" Results Message [Beta 32]

Posted: Mon Feb 17, 2020 11:56 pm
by Scrivictim
It's funny that you say that. Between the search and the vanishing registrations, I'm not so certain that the Scrivener developers are even aware there is a forum.

To MM, the issue I'm having is that there is no "Jump to next in Search of Project." There is a "Search Project" (Ctrl-G Ctrl-S), but it seems merely to narrow the documents list to matching documents, and to highlight the matches. It doesn't support navigating to them. And there is a Find-in-Document (Ctrl-F), which does support "Find Next" (F3), but only within the current document.