[LH543] Formatting inconsistency when importing 1.9.x projects

Ak
Akirus
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2019 12:15 am
Platform: Windows

Fri Dec 27, 2019 12:33 am Post

Having some trouble importing a 1.9.x project to the beta without messing up the formatting. Templates formatted with tabs seem to display differently in 2.9.0.32. See examples below:

How it looks in 1.9.x: https://i.imgur.com/MSNV1LY.png

How it looks in beta: https://i.imgur.com/iEP9fWo.png

Played around with the settings a bit but couldn't find a way to get it lined up properly again. Any suggestions?

rw
rwfranz
Posts: 831
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 9:41 pm
Platform: Windows

Sun Dec 29, 2019 3:36 am Post

Akirus wrote:Having some trouble importing a 1.9.x project to the beta without messing up the formatting. Templates formatted with tabs seem to display differently in 2.9.0.32. See examples below:

How it looks in 1.9.x: https://i.imgur.com/MSNV1LY.png

How it looks in beta: https://i.imgur.com/iEP9fWo.png

Played around with the settings a bit but couldn't find a way to get it lined up properly again. Any suggestions?

First note: the ruler numbers are incorrect (the ruler is short by 1/4" per 1". Take that into account as you're placing tabs. If you want 2" on screen, you'll need to use 2 2/3" of ruler).

Inserting Right tabs in the ruler worked for me to create the alignment you're wanting. But you're likely not wanting to do that manually throughout the project (I wouldn't).

If it's just one document (or just a few) you need to correct: View | Text Editing | Ruler. Back to the editor. Ctrl+A (select all). Right click in the ruler at where you want the right tab to be. Select "Add Right Tab". This should add a right tab right there. Unfortunately, we can't edit more than one document at the same time. Limits of the toolkit in use, from what I understand.

If there are many docs to correct, though, editing tabs is tedious. I expect you used the conversion utility or the Import function (the 2nd is more reliable than the first, but neither is great).

Open both 1.9 and 2.9 at the same time. Check one of your documents that's like this by dragging it from the old Scrivener into the Beta (don't worry, the old copy will stay there). If this retains tabs as desired, then select in the old binder the entire project (click in the binder, Ctrl+A), and drag and drop it into the Beta (I usually put them just above the Trash folder). Rearrange folders as desired. If it does NOT retain correct tabulature, please report that.
Just another user.

Ak
Akirus
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2019 12:15 am
Platform: Windows

Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:25 am Post

I tried your suggestion to drag-and-drop in addition to using both the importer and conversion utility but the result was the same. Seems like the ruler settings aren't transferring over.

I have over a hundred templates formatted like this so as you said, it would be too tedious to do them all manually.

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Mon Dec 30, 2019 7:19 pm Post

For what its worth, this has been reported before and has TWO bug tracking numbers: viewtopic.php?f=57&t=50900
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 1909
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 2.9.9.2 Beta (887454) 64-bit - 06 Apr 2020