What is the keyboard shortcut for text to speech in windows version???

fp
fpshed2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 10:06 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Dec 26, 2019 11:34 am Post

The subject line says it all. What is the keyboard shortcut for text to speech in windows version???
Regards,
Bill Antonacchio

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 1875
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272 (CN97au)
Contact:

Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:21 am Post

In my copy there do not appear to be any set by default:

Scrivener-Speech-Shortcuts.jpg
Scrivener-Speech-Shortcuts.jpg (94.65 KiB) Viewed 312 times


You can add your own via File, Options, Speech, then find and edit the shortcut bindings for the "Stop Speaking" and "Start/Pause Speaking" actions.

Once you have them set the way you like, take an extra few seconds to export these settings so you can easily re-import them in the future if you have to re-install or they don't carry across between upgrades.
--
Devin L. Ganger, WA7DLG
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Winner "Best in Class", 2018 My First Supervillain Photo Shoot

fp
fpshed2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 10:06 am
Platform: Windows

Fri Dec 27, 2019 11:00 am Post

Thank you for that. Seems to be a bit of work, especially when having to redo for every new beta release. Too bad they dropped the shortcuts that had been part of the program previously.
Regards,
Bill Antonacchio

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 1875
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272 (CN97au)
Contact:

Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:11 pm Post

fpshed2 wrote:Thank you for that. Seems to be a bit of work, especially when having to redo for every new beta release. Too bad they dropped the shortcuts that had been part of the program previously.


You shouldn't have to redo everything for each new beta release -- I use the in-program updater and have for most of the beta cycle, and my various settings have happily carried along.

I *do* wish that there was a way to export and import all my various settings and once (that invoked all these other various bits) for those times that I need to manually uninstall and reinstall, but that would be nice on the Mac too, so I might put it in Wishlist.
--
Devin L. Ganger, WA7DLG
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Winner "Best in Class", 2018 My First Supervillain Photo Shoot

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Fri Dec 27, 2019 11:11 pm Post

devinganger wrote:I *do* wish that there was a way to export and import all my various settings and once (that invoked all these other various bits) for those times that I need to manually uninstall and reinstall, but that would be nice on the Mac too, so I might put it in Wishlist.

Do these settings not stay when you do a Save of the preferences? It works that way for me. Saves everything but a theme (which has its own save) and the recent projects list. Typically, For each new beta; I save my preferences, uninstall the old, install new, load preferences, then on about my business.
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 1909
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 2.9.9.2 Beta (887454) 64-bit - 06 Apr 2020

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 1875
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272 (CN97au)
Contact:

Fri Dec 27, 2019 11:32 pm Post

Jestar wrote:
devinganger wrote:I *do* wish that there was a way to export and import all my various settings and once (that invoked all these other various bits) for those times that I need to manually uninstall and reinstall, but that would be nice on the Mac too, so I might put it in Wishlist.

Do these settings not stay when you do a Save of the preferences? It works that way for me. Saves everything but a theme (which has its own save) and the recent projects list. Typically, For each new beta; I save my preferences, uninstall the old, install new, load preferences, then on about my business.


To be honest, I don't actually know! As I said, I use the in-program updater and generally don't have to worry about it, and I haven't made a ton of mods to my preferences to begin with. :)
--
Devin L. Ganger, WA7DLG
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Winner "Best in Class", 2018 My First Supervillain Photo Shoot

fp
fpshed2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 10:06 am
Platform: Windows

Sat Dec 28, 2019 10:45 am Post

Where might one find "Save of the Preferences". Weird menu select name by the way!
Regards,
Bill Antonacchio

User avatar
Jestar
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:51 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows

Sat Dec 28, 2019 9:27 pm Post

fpshed2 wrote:Where might one find "Save of the Preferences". Weird menu select name by the way!

1) Open a project.
2) Press F12 or go to File->Options
3) Lower left corner - Manage
Options1.png
Options 1
Options1.png (29.48 KiB) Viewed 169 times

4) Select what you are wanting to do
Options2.png
Options 2
Options2.png (35.3 KiB) Viewed 169 times
Win 10 Ent. 64-Bit 1909
Intel Core i7-2600 @ 3,4 GHz (Quadcore) 32 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB
NVIDIA Quadro K600
Scrivener Version: Version: 1.9.16.0 - 14 Nov 2019 & Version: 2.9.9.2 Beta (887454) 64-bit - 06 Apr 2020