Scrivener 3 Beta expiration -- Will I still be able to use beta if already downloaded?

KJ
KJIsaacson
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 4:57 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Dec 16, 2019 1:31 pm Post

I see that Scrivener 3 Beta will expire at the end of this month. If I've already downloaded it, will I be able to use it past that date? And be able to access my saved project?

Thanks.

Tw
Twolane
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 7:39 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Dec 16, 2019 2:26 pm Post

F12 / General / Startup / Automatically check for updates, will ensue you get the update to the Beta when it occurs.

KJ
KJIsaacson
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 4:57 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Dec 16, 2019 2:49 pm Post

Thanks, but still a question or two:

1. Will there be a gap between the end of this Beta and the release of the next?

2. If there's a gap, will I still be able to work with the current beta already installed on my computer? Or will I be in limbo?

KJ
KJIsaacson
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 4:57 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Dec 16, 2019 3:22 pm Post

FWIW, I do have a license for Ver 1.9.16.0.

To
Tom Lewis
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2019 3:56 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Dec 16, 2019 3:33 pm Post

KJIsaacson wrote:Thanks, but still a question or two:

1. Will there be a gap between the end of this Beta and the release of the next?

2. If there's a gap, will I still be able to work with the current beta already installed on my computer? Or will I be in limbo?

Answer 1: There's never been a gap in the betas. Usually the new beta comes out one or two days prior to the expiration of the previous one.

Answer 2: No, After the expiration date, that beta will no longer function. But see my answer above.

If it makes you feel more secure, do what I do and just copy and paste the text from the beta 3 documents over to a v.1 project.

KJ
KJIsaacson
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 4:57 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Dec 16, 2019 4:10 pm Post

Thanks for the responses.

EM
EMaree
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 4:59 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Dec 16, 2019 10:27 pm Post

Scrivener 3 beta *will* lock you out after the beta expires--once the deadline is passed, you can't use the beta.

As others have said, this isn't an issue for folks with internet access because the updates come out quite a few days in advance (and given the holiday season I'm sure the next beta will be even earlier than it's usual). But if you're going away travelling/seeing the family/etc without internet access make sure to check for a new release before you depart, and prepare a back-up method if the beta is still set to expire while you're travelling/offline/etc.

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 1875
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272 (CN97au)
Contact:

Tue Dec 17, 2019 10:40 am Post

EMaree wrote:But if you're going away travelling/seeing the family/etc without internet access make sure to check for a new release before you depart, and prepare a back-up method if the beta is still set to expire while you're travelling/offline/etc.


Or just make a point of coming here to the beta forum when you get back, download the new version directly, and install it.
--
Devin L. Ganger, WA7DLG
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Winner "Best in Class", 2018 My First Supervillain Photo Shoot

User avatar
rdale
Posts: 1895
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 1:07 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Tue Dec 17, 2019 2:30 pm Post

devinganger wrote:
EMaree wrote:But if you're going away travelling/seeing the family/etc without internet access make sure to check for a new release before you depart, and prepare a back-up method if the beta is still set to expire while you're travelling/offline/etc.


Or just make a point of coming here to the beta forum when you get back, download the new version directly, and install it.

That's fine if you don't actually do any work while visiting relatives for the holidays, but how am I supposed to actually write when I excuse myself from all the holiday cheer* and I can't get onto their wifi...because they don't have any!? :shock:

* Long-standing familial arguments
FKA: robertdguthrie
AKA: R Dale Guthrie, Robert, Mr. Obscure, and "Oh, it's you again".

Online
Ji
JimRac
Posts: 1387
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 2:06 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Tue Dec 17, 2019 5:53 pm Post

BYO MyFi
I’m just a customer.

User avatar
devinganger
Posts: 1875
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:55 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Monroe, WA 98272 (CN97au)
Contact:

Tue Dec 17, 2019 6:31 pm Post

rdale wrote:That's fine if you don't actually do any work while visiting relatives for the holidays, but how am I supposed to actually write when I excuse myself from all the holiday cheer* and I can't get onto their wifi...because they don't have any!? :shock:


My solution to this may not work for everyone, but I just avoid visiting relatives for holidays. If they want to see me, they can come here. I am more than happy to hole up in my office. :twisted:
--
Devin L. Ganger, WA7DLG
Not a L&L employee; opinions are those of my cat
Winner "Best in Class", 2018 My First Supervillain Photo Shoot

No
NoHope
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 4:21 am
Platform: Windows

Tue Dec 17, 2019 8:13 pm Post

6 kids and 11 grandkids, I dont have a choice. Family Christmas, but I have phone hotspot and a portable 4g modem/router and aerial for poor reception areas.

User avatar
jje
Posts: 295
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:57 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Sussex, UK

Wed Dec 18, 2019 9:00 am Post

No wifi? Too many family members? Need the new Scriv beta? Perfect excuse for a morning in a coffee shop a few miles away... 8)

User avatar
zarahoffman
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:45 am
Platform: Mac
Contact:

Tue Dec 31, 2019 10:34 am Post

Tom Lewis wrote:
KJIsaacson wrote:Thanks, but still a question or two:

1. Will there be a gap between the end of this Beta and the release of the next?

2. If there's a gap, will I still be able to work with the current beta already installed on my computer? Or will I be in limbo?

Answer 1: There's never been a gap in the betas. Usually the new beta comes out one or two days prior to the expiration of the previous one.

Answer 2: No, After the expiration date, that beta will no longer function. But see my answer above.

If it makes you feel more secure, do what I do and just copy and paste the text from the beta 3 documents over to a v.1 project.


It's now the expiration date and I can't find the update.
Zara Hoffman
Author of The Belgrave Legacy

No
NoHope
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 4:21 am
Platform: Windows

Tue Dec 31, 2019 10:45 am Post

It's now the expiration date and I can't find the update.


No it’s not. Beta 32 was released a little while back and it expires after 20 Jan. If you look on the Windows Beta home page you will see the derails, or you could just select Help > check for updates - on iPad so that may not be exact wording