Is there a way to change the zoom level for all documents in the project at once?

User avatar
krastev
Posts: 441
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 am
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Tue Aug 20, 2019 2:47 pm Post

Is there a way to change the zoom level for all documents in the project at once?

Thanks,
M
Krastev
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.16.0
Testing Scrivener Beta for Windows

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Aug 20, 2019 3:05 pm Post

Try File > Options > Editing > Options > Default text zoom.

User avatar
krastev
Posts: 441
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 am
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Tue Aug 20, 2019 3:24 pm Post

tiho_d wrote:Try File > Options > Editing > Options > Default text zoom.

I'm aware of but that's for new projects only, no?

What about the current project?

thanks,
M
Krastev
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.16.0
Testing Scrivener Beta for Windows

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Aug 20, 2019 4:04 pm Post

The zoom is per editor. The main editors store its zoom levels upon restart. If you change your main editors to 200%, they will load all documents with 200% and upon restart the zoom should be again 200%. This is only for the main editors though. We have not added the option of a global zoom level for all editors still. For example you cannot change the zoom of the Inspector Comments/Footnotes editors.

User avatar
krastev
Posts: 441
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 5:21 am
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:25 pm Post

Ah, that clears the things out.

Thank you,
M
Krastev
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Scrivener for Windows Version 1.9.16.0
Testing Scrivener Beta for Windows

so
soriyya
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:50 am
Platform: Windows

Sun Feb 16, 2020 9:41 am Post

Bumping this... The Default Zoom level is supposed to change the zoom level of the active document in the main editor, correct? Well nothing happens with latest beta when I try to set it even after closing and restarting Scrivener. When using sync to work on the same document on a laptop with a small screen and later on a desktop it would be very useful to have different zoom settings. Using latest beta, v 38. Am I missing something obvious here or is it not working?

zoomlevel.PNG
zoomlevel.PNG (69.18 KiB) Viewed 496 times

zoom level with actual 400% setting:
zoom400.PNG
zoom400.PNG (35.29 KiB) Viewed 496 times

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Sun Feb 16, 2020 9:55 am Post

Check my comment above.

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1075
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Mon Feb 17, 2020 4:12 pm Post

We have added an option that will allow you to start Scrivener always using your preferred scaling, ignoring the last scaling you used upon shutdown. Check it in the next Beta 39.

so
soriyya
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:50 am
Platform: Windows

Mon Feb 17, 2020 9:49 pm Post

Thanks for answering but I just tried setting the zoom factor to something different, closing the project and reopening it on another device, and unfortunately that means the zoom factor gets applied to the other system as well which is not very helpful. I want a smaller zoom factor on the desktop with a big screen compared to the laptop where everything is tiny (lots of pixels, not so many inches).

That's why I was asking about the menu option since it sounded like something that would be device specific. If it isn't, and the zoom is reset to whatever is stored with the project, what is the point of that menu option? And is there another way in Scrivener3 to achieve this?