[LH3774] Bulleted List formatting Error

wa
wade.beasley@twc.com
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:19 am
Platform: Windows

Mon Aug 05, 2019 2:34 am Post

When I just typed four lines of items to place in a bullet list, it did this in the editor:

This is a bulleted list:
[img]
Scrivener%20Windows%20Beta%20Bullet%20List%20Bug%2008%2004%202019.fw.png
[/img]

Also, why are there no buttons to Shift Right / Left paragraphs or bulleted lists?

Thanks,
Wade B.
Attachments
Scrivener Windows Beta Bullet List Bug 08 04 2019.fw.png
Scrivener Windows Beta Bullet List Bug 08 04 2019.fw.png (142.63 KiB) Viewed 526 times

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1497
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:42 am Post

To shift left/right use tab/shift tab or backspace which is far more convenient and faster than a button.

rw
rwfranz
Posts: 1019
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 9:41 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Aug 05, 2019 7:37 am Post

I did the same thing. First thing I checked was bullets. Made a short list, like so:
bulletsbefore.PNG
bulletsbefore.PNG (3.55 KiB) Viewed 494 times

Selected all, and used the button to convert to a bulleted list. This results:
bulletsafter.PNG
bulletsafter.PNG (3.94 KiB) Viewed 494 times

The last item has had its tabs set to something other. The first two lines, the indent is set to what seems to be 1/4 inch; the last line, per the ruler, it's set to 1/6 inch. I'm not sure the ruler is accurate, but it's a measure, at least.

I looked at the contents.rtf file with another RTF reader (I have several), and all showed a similar issue. File Explorer shows what Scrivener shows. Two longer indents and one shorter indent.

However, if I START with a bullet (that is, I have a blank line and I click the bullets button), ALL my bullets will use the indent from that last line (in this case, ~1/6 inch) when I bulletize a non-bulletized list.
Just another user.

sc
schoolmann
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 12:29 am
Platform: Windows

Tue Aug 06, 2019 3:48 am Post

I was excited when the bulleted list issue seemed to be resolved in the most recent beta. Size of bullets and bullets moving with tabbed text was working great. However, there is still an issue that makes the feature unusable for me: It does not want to let me stop using bullets, and wants to retroactively insert bullets prior to where I began the list. Here's an example:

Scriv-bullet-list-example.png
Scriv-bullet-list-example.png (55.59 KiB) Viewed 455 times

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1497
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Aug 06, 2019 6:19 am Post

Thanks, I am afraid this is a bug. When a bullet list is created from several selected paragraphs, the last paragraph has a different indent. This can be fixed via dragging the line indents. If you create the list items one by one using the Enter key the list items are created with the proper indents. I have filed this bug and will be fixed in the next release.

Sh
Shipleyaust
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:15 am
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Hunter Valley, NSW, Australia
Contact:

Tue Aug 06, 2019 6:58 am Post

Can someone please guide me to where this Options is? I cannot find it under Options nor on a menu? I would like to test this out syncing between iOS and Windows to see if it has in fact improved anything / everything. Thanks.

Scrivener Beta 20 option for Bullets.jpg
Scrivener Beta 20 option for Bullets.jpg (174.76 KiB) Viewed 441 times

User avatar
tiho_d
Posts: 1497
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 1:14 pm
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Aug 06, 2019 8:53 am Post

This was removed just before the release, and we missed updating the release notes. The default tabs and indents are using defaults, which ensure exact as possible visualization under Windows, Mac and iOS, and not bother the users with the details here.

Sh
Shipleyaust
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:15 am
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: Hunter Valley, NSW, Australia
Contact:

Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:55 am Post

Thanks Tiho - will play around with it in Beta 20. I use a lot of bullets in my technical writing and it has been frustrating to have to re-format between platforms and / or set up more than enough bullets in Windows and then delete unused ones (but would still screw up when entering one in the middle and having to reformat when back on Windows. I know lists are difficult to get consistent!