[LH3610] Compile "Test..." Button Not Working

rg
rgletter
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:45 pm
Platform: Win + iOS

Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:34 pm Post

I thought by now the "Test" button would be working in Compile. But I don't see any condition where it works unless its invisible.

I assume this feature allows the user to view the changes on screen without creating a file.

Right now when you press the "Test" button" nothing happens. What am I supposed to expect?

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 23702
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Wed Jun 19, 2019 9:40 pm Post

I do think the Test button remains broken. That aside, the purpose of this feature is not to draw a preview on the screen. That would be impossible for some of the formats that Scrivener supports (it would have to have a full-blown Kindle reader for example). What it does do is bypass the whole process of saving your Format, compiling, checking the file, opening Compile again, editing the format, making a change, saving, compiling, et cetera. Instead you will be able to just hit the Test button and check the file, tweak settings, and repeat.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

th
thePhilosoraptor
Posts: 1180
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:28 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Jun 20, 2019 10:57 pm Post

This has been filed. Thanks!
Bryan Bender