Compile doesn't work after the latest update

Ch
Ch4kro
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 12:06 pm
Platform: Windows

Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:26 pm Post

Version: 2.9.0.16 Beta (513567) 64-bit freezes when I try to "compile." It does not produce a dialogue window or allow me to end task and exit Scrivener. I just discovered that pressing the escape button brings it back as an active document, but have not yet seen the compile work. I am using Windows 10.0.17763.

User avatar
michaelhendrsn
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:23 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Warburton, VIC, Aus
Contact:

Sun Mar 31, 2019 10:33 pm Post

I have the same problem after updating this morning. Assistance please.

I have also found that reinstalling 2.9.0.15 from full install file does not fix the problem.

Although another writer was able to do so (see below) the problem appears to be that the popup window for compile does not open. Using <Alt><Tab> it is possible to see the "function" for the popup but not to open on screen.

As at the moment, my work is toast.
:(
Last edited by michaelhendrsn on Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Tw
Twolane
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 7:39 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:03 am Post

I installed B16 overtop of B15. On reading this, I was able to compile my latest draft as a Times New Roman .docx.

(Not relevant, but I upload the .docx using Send to Kindle to load it onto my tablet and phone for proofing.)

Using Win10 x64 1809

User avatar
michaelhendrsn
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:23 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Warburton, VIC, Aus
Contact:

Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:20 am Post

Now working - follow thread for fix. Thanks Community.

Twolane wrote:I installed B16 overtop of B15. On reading this, I was able to compile my latest draft as a Times New Roman .docx.

(Not relevant, but I upload the .docx using Send to Kindle to load it onto my tablet and phone for proofing.)

Using Win10 x64 1809


See my amended entry - the problem appears to be that the popup wont open.
Last edited by michaelhendrsn on Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
haep
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:29 am
Platform: Win + iOS

Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:33 am Post

michaelhendrsn wrote:
Twolane wrote:I installed B16 overtop of B15. On reading this, I was able to compile my latest draft as a Times New Roman .docx.

(Not relevant, but I upload the .docx using Send to Kindle to load it onto my tablet and phone for proofing.)

Using Win10 x64 1809


See my amended entry - the problem appears to be that the popup wont open.


I had same issue in beta 12. The compile dialog opened behind the main window or out of screen and I had to press esc key to go back to main window.
That happened to me mostly in dark mode.. So when reset settings to default and restoring project settings (alt key pressed when select file.menu and select save project and restore settings or something similar) I can compile my work.
That behavior disappeared for me in beta 14.
hope it helps.
Windows 10 home 2004
Intel(R) Core i7-7500U CPU 2.7GHz 2.9 GHz 8.00GB RAM
SSD 500GB
15" 1920x1080 at 125% zoom
23" 1920x1080 at 100% zoom
32" 1360x768 at 100% zoom

IPhone 8 Plus IOS 13.5.1
IPad Pro 12.9” third gen. IOS 13.5.1

User avatar
michaelhendrsn
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:23 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Warburton, VIC, Aus
Contact:

Mon Apr 01, 2019 12:40 am Post

Brilliant! Close project and restore interface settings...

Now working. Thanks for your help.

haep wrote:
michaelhendrsn wrote:
Twolane wrote:I installed B16 overtop of B15. On reading this, I was able to compile my latest draft as a Times New Roman .docx.

(Not relevant, but I upload the .docx using Send to Kindle to load it onto my tablet and phone for proofing.)

Using Win10 x64 1809


See my amended entry - the problem appears to be that the popup wont open.


I had same issue in beta 12. The compile dialog opened behind the main window or out of screen and I had to press esc key to go back to main window.
That happened to me mostly in dark mode.. So when reset settings to default and restoring project settings (alt key pressed when select file.menu and select save project and restore settings or something similar) I can compile my work.
That behavior disappeared for me in beta 14.
hope it helps.

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2085
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:46 am Post

I compiled to PDF this morning, and no problems. Is it only docx that's the problem? Can you compile to RTF?
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

User avatar
michaelhendrsn
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:23 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Warburton, VIC, Aus
Contact:

Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:53 am Post

Thanks and please see the thread. It is opening the popup that fails which means it applies to ALL compiling.
[Alt][File] then [Close Project and Reset Interface Settings] restores the functionality.
According to others this has happened to others at different revision levels.
The workaround is very useful.
Thanks all.

garpu wrote:I compiled to PDF this morning, and no problems. Is it only docx that's the problem? Can you compile to RTF?

rw
rwfranz
Posts: 1019
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 9:41 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Apr 04, 2019 12:26 am Post

garpu wrote:I compiled to PDF this morning, and no problems. Is it only docx that's the problem? Can you compile to RTF?


I compiled to docx just now.

Clean install (deleted everything from prior install; installed new B16).
Just another user.