[NB] [Suggestion][UI] Numerical control for PDF page selection is counterintuitive?

Sp
SpringfieldMH
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS

Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:10 pm Post

For what it's worth.... When viewing a PDF, the numerical control in the footer may be counter-intuitive, in that clicking up arrow results in moving down through document and clicking down moves up through the document. Makes sense as far as incrementing/decrementing page number numeric value, but is counter-intuitive as far as associated movement.

Scrivener 2.9.0.1 beta (19429) 20 Nov 2017
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit 10.0.15063
I'm a Scrivener enthusiast and (used to be) experienced in PC/network support... but I am not a Scrivener expert. And I'm still editing on my first book. So take any opinion or advice I offer with a large grain of salt.

Sp
SpringfieldMH

Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:51 pm Post

To clarify, in the Windows beta, the field that allows one to type in desired page number is accompanied by up/down arrow buttons that allow one to increment/decrement the desired page number. I'm referring to those, not the forward/back arrow buttons the input field is located between. Turns out that on Scrivener 3 for Mac OS X, the field (page icon till one clicks on it) is not accompanied by such up/down arrows for incrementing/decrementing the page number value (but is located between forward/back arrow buttons). Personally, for the Windows version, if the increment/decrement buttons are to be present (seems reasonable), I'd still lean to reversing their function so that up arrow corresponds to moving to earlier page and down arrow corresponds to later page, but I'll adapt.
I'm a Scrivener enthusiast and (used to be) experienced in PC/network support... but I am not a Scrivener expert. And I'm still editing on my first book. So take any opinion or advice I offer with a large grain of salt.

devinganger

Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:56 am Post