gap between text and keyboard

Sc
Scrooge
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:59 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:58 am Post

Hi everyone,

I switched from the iPhone 7 to the iPhone Xr yesterday. I hoped to have advantages in Scrivener because of the bigger screen.
But when I run Scrivener on the iPhone Xr there is a gap between the text area in the upper half and the keyboard area. Please watch the comparison in the attached pic (iPhone 7 left, iPhone Xr right).

This problem occurs on any virtual keyboard I use.

Any idea how to solve this?

Thanks in advance
Hartmut
Attachments
gap.jpg
gap.jpg (159.54 KiB) Viewed 4956 times

Ja
JamesE
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 6:37 am
Platform: Win + iOS

Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:22 am Post

I am getting the opposite of this bug on the iPhone XR. Rather than a gap, the bottom half to 2/3rds of the text is cut off by the keyboard.
It works fine on iPhone SE.

User avatar
rdale
Posts: 2071
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 1:07 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Tue Nov 12, 2019 2:25 pm Post

Have you turned on Settings->Scrivener->Editor->3rd Party Keyboard Support?
FKA: robertdguthrie
AKA: R Dale Guthrie, Robert, Mr. Obscure, and "Oh, it's you again".

Ja
JamesE
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 6:37 am
Platform: Win + iOS

Tue Nov 12, 2019 8:50 pm Post

For the record. Mine has no settings changed. I literally opened up the box with the iPhone XR, did the initial account and feature setup, downloaded Scrivener, and found several iPhone XR bugs.

Le
Lewis-H
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 2:03 pm
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Wed Mar 11, 2020 2:33 pm Post

It seems if you add "renderInputToolbar" prop, and only return <InputToolbar /> component as the value of the prop, it will work fine.

Do
DopeyRunr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 12:46 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue May 12, 2020 5:00 pm Post

JamesE wrote:I am getting the opposite of this bug on the iPhone XR. Rather than a gap, the bottom half to 2/3rds of the text is cut off by the keyboard.
It works fine on iPhone SE.


I'm also getting this same bug on iPhone7. I would LOVE to have the gap rather than having most of the line of text hidden. Are the devs working on this? They must be aware of this bug...