Would like to see stronger privacy or security functionality

ed
edensocial
Platform: Mac

Mon Sep 09, 2019 3:19 am Post

I am a privacy professional, who is using Scrivener to write a book on Mac security and privacy matters. So naturally, I will be more conscientious about software that is install on my iMac. But, I wanted to share a concern that I recently identified, and would like to see stronger privacy, security and encryption capabilities given some writing projects may require more confidentiality.

On my iMac, I use a security application called 'Little Snitch,' which monitors all inbound and outbound network connections made from applications installed on my iMac. Basically, anytime an application attempt to connect to the internet, Little Snitch will alert me, and provide me the choice to allow or deny those specific connections.

For example, if I open a website within Safari, and that website had ad tracking software, hidden malware, or social sharing links to Facebook or Pinterest etc., Little Snitch will alert me when these connections are attempting to be made, and I can block these connections, which prevents them from loading or collection personal information about me.

When I store websites or PDF documents to my Microsoft OneNote, these files or links appear to be 'SandBoxed' which isolates each website or file from anything that I am doing within OneNote, or any other websites or files that I am viewing within OneNote. Simply, the only time Little Snitch alerts me to one of my saved websites or files attempting to connect to the internet, is when I am viewing that specific file. And even then, the only connections that appear to occur are connections to pull the latest update to that website. No adware or google analytics or hidden Canary features (that send updates when a file is open or viewed) being collected, OneNote appears to block this by default etc.