Overwriting earlier compiled output

RH
RHvdG
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 5:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:00 am Post

I find myself having to grant permission for the PDF generated on compile to overwrite the previous output. It would be convenient to have a preference setting for always automatically allowing this or, alternatively, for automatically generating a unique name for the new file (thesis.pdf, thesis-1.pdf, ...).
Doing a PhD on Hegel, using Scrivener. ‘Es geht vernünftig zu.’

Online
User avatar
lunk
Posts: 4183
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:24 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Sweden 64° N

Mon Feb 04, 2019 10:59 am Post

This is the way it works on a Mac. Having a new saved copy of every compilation could result in a huge number of almost identical copies so that wouldn't be very nice. Having to click an extra Ok isn't that much work.
I am a user, writing non-fiction and science, using:
* Mac Scrivener 3 on a Macbook 12”, MacBook Pro 13”, and iMac 27”, running different OS.
* iOS Scrivener 1 on an iPhone 11 Pro, iPad Air 9.7”, and iPad Pro 12.9”, all running the latest iOS

RH
RHvdG
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 5:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:17 am Post

lunk wrote:This is the way it works on a Mac. Having a new saved copy of every compilation could result in a huge number of almost identical copies so that wouldn't be very nice. Having to click an extra Ok isn't that much work.


It would be a user preference. If the user fears huge numbers of copies, they can leave it the way it was. Optional automatic incremental renaming of new versions is not a new concept on the Mac or elsewhere.
Doing a PhD on Hegel, using Scrivener. ‘Es geht vernünftig zu.’

Online
User avatar
lunk
Posts: 4183
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:24 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Sweden 64° N

Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:57 am Post

In which Mac apps do you have it?
I am a user, writing non-fiction and science, using:
* Mac Scrivener 3 on a Macbook 12”, MacBook Pro 13”, and iMac 27”, running different OS.
* iOS Scrivener 1 on an iPhone 11 Pro, iPad Air 9.7”, and iPad Pro 12.9”, all running the latest iOS

RH
RHvdG
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 5:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Contact:

Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:18 pm Post

lunk wrote:In which Mac apps do you have it?


Lightroom, and others. But you could have found that out yourself.
Doing a PhD on Hegel, using Scrivener. ‘Es geht vernünftig zu.’

Online
User avatar
lunk
Posts: 4183
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 4:24 pm
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Sweden 64° N

Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:29 pm Post

I asked because none of my Mac apps have it, and I have a lot.
I am a user, writing non-fiction and science, using:
* Mac Scrivener 3 on a Macbook 12”, MacBook Pro 13”, and iMac 27”, running different OS.
* iOS Scrivener 1 on an iPhone 11 Pro, iPad Air 9.7”, and iPad Pro 12.9”, all running the latest iOS

Sh
Shell
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:23 am
Platform: Mac
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Sun Feb 10, 2019 4:29 pm Post

RHvdG wrote:
lunk wrote:In which Mac apps do you have it?


Lightroom, and others. But you could have found that out yourself.


Aye, Adobe apps are very non-standard, preferring their own UI implementations (even after years, they don't apply fundamental native UI behaviour like full-screen or spaces correctly on macOS).
Writer, Web Developer