Writing a series on Scrivener

mw
mwm
Platform: Mac

Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:34 pm Post

Hi,
I'm writing a long ten book series, with ALOT of notes on world building and such not related to just characters and places.
I'm new to the application, and noticed it has project folders for novels, but cannot find one for a series.

How would you recommend formatting on Scrivener?

lunk
Platform: Mac + iOS

Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:38 pm Post

Scrivener is not for formatting. Focus on the writing.
I am a user, writing non-fiction and science, using:
* Mac Scrivener 3 on a Macbook 12”, MacBook Pro 13”, and iMac 27”, all running the latest MacOS
* iOS Scrivener 1 on an iPhone 8, iPad Air 9.7”, and iPad Pro 12.9”, all running the latest iOS

kewms

Fri Jul 28, 2017 8:40 pm Post

If you haven't already, be sure to review the Interactive Tutorial, available from the Help menu.

You can create as many folders and subfolders as you like, breaking your project down to whatever level of granularity you want.

Katherine
Scrivener Support Team

mw
mwm

Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:17 pm Post

kewms wrote:If you haven't already, be sure to review the Interactive Tutorial, available from the Help menu.

You can create as many folders and subfolders as you like, breaking your project down to whatever level of granularity you want.

Katherine

Do the folders follow the same principles as the Character and Setting ones? Or are those specially encoded to be present throughout the whole document?
Really new to this; so I don't know all the specifics.
Would a single project of that file size slow the application down?

Hu
Hugh

Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:11 am Post

mwm wrote:
Do the folders follow the same principles as the Character and Setting ones? Or are those specially encoded to be present throughout the whole document?