Using Scapple on more than one machine?

ly
lydmouth
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:39 pm
Platform: Mac

Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:54 pm Post

Scapple-1 works fine on my iMac. I downloaded it onto my MacBook. It works. But when it wouldn't let me open a file I'd created in Scapple-1 on the MacBook. Any reason for that?

As other users have said, a date-and-time command would be handy, though not essential.

I love the simplicity of this. Great program.

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20719
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Fri Jan 18, 2013 1:18 pm Post

Hi,

You can use any text expander tool (e.g. TextExpander, TypeIt4Me) to insert date and time, and they work in any program, too.

Scapple should work fine on both Macs, though - there's no good reason you should have problems there. What was the error message you received?

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

ly
lydmouth
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 12:39 pm
Platform: Mac

Fri Jan 18, 2013 2:33 pm Post

Now this is embarrassing - having woken the MacBook from a sleep, I find it opens the file with no problem.

When I tried before (just after downloading scapple-1), the program loaded as usual but, when I tried to open the file, nothing happened.

Thanks for the tip re date and time.

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20719
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:11 pm Post

Glad it's working okay now - strange it had problems before, though.
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."