Page 1 of 1

Fixable/definable box size

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:59 am
by Marmeloni
Since the inspector is working fine for me since the last build, I am madly in love with the app. I have one thing that I don't really like: The size of the boxes is reset every time I change the text within it. Since I use boxes to indicate a timespan or a sequence which I rename after a while (or copy and paste and then edit), it would be great if the boxes stayed the same once I manually changed their size.

The behavior of boxes that were not resized should stay the same.

Re: Fixable/definable box size

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:21 am
by mgmcalister
Here, here.

Re: Fixable/definable box size

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:28 pm
by michaelbywater
Where? Where?

But I too agree.

Re: Fixable/definable box size

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 8:56 pm
by Juddbert
There. There.

Not at all sure that such behaviour constitutes a real benefit but, in for a penny...

Re: Fixable/definable box size

Posted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:53 pm
by KB
It only gets wider if it's narrower than the default size. I added this behaviour because I find it annoying otherwise. Remember that Scapple has no idea whether you resized it or whether it was auto-sized. You can always reduce the default width in the preferences.

Oh, wait - if you just mean the way the boxes automatically shrink when you edit them, then just turn off auto-sizing in the preferences.

Re: Fixable/definable box size

Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:48 am
by AmberV
That's an interesting usage of them, by the way! Kind of a fuzzy chronology by how wide things are.