Scapple Beta - New Users Please Read

ja
jake4891
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:06 am
Platform: Mac

Sun Oct 14, 2012 8:10 am Post

Now there's my kind of mind manager. No constraints. Just paper and my mind. I love it already and will buy it surely. Great stuff :D

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20715
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:11 am Post

richardnagel wrote:I am confused about whether I can use the keyboard to move from note to note. Sometimes the arrow keys take me to a linked note in the expected direction. Sometimes they don't, even if there is only one linked note to move to.


Keyboard navigation only works between notes that are aligned or stacked; it cannot move through arbitrary notes as there is no inherent order to them.

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

la
laotang
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:12 pm
Platform: Mac

Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:19 pm Post

Hi,

this looks great! Is there any way to drop a link / add a link to a note? I store all my data in Devonthink and would love to cross-link as much as possible.

Ba
Barbarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 3:44 pm
Platform: Mac

Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:55 pm Post

Hi again. today playing with the program i noticed that if i change some of the bubble text to bold, the bubble do not resize with the text, i don't know if it is a bug but it looks strange that when you finish writing in a blank note the bubble resize to it but not when you change the font properties. it looks something like this
Image

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20715
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sun Oct 14, 2012 3:26 pm Post

Barbarian wrote:Hi again. today playing with the program i noticed that if i change some of the bubble text to bold, the bubble do not resize with the text, i don't know if it is a bug but it looks strange that when you finish writing in a blank note the bubble resize to it but not when you change the font properties. it looks something like this


The note maintains its width - this is not a bug, but intended behaviour. You can resize the note manually by dragging the right or left edge.

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

ri
richardnagel
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 1:15 am
Platform: Mac

Sun Oct 14, 2012 5:53 pm Post

Is there a way to set a note's style back to the default style?

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20715
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:02 pm Post

richardnagel wrote:Is there a way to set a note's style back to the default style?


Not in the current beta, but this has been added for the next one.

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

co
cor_stellae
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:19 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: Costa Rica

Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:49 pm Post

Well, Keith, with so many intentional features, I may not be able to make many suggestions without betraying the concept. Anyway, this is my experience so far:

1) I changed the background color, exported the new "map" and the PDF ended up with the original yellow background. Would that be a bug?

2) It was definitely easy to take notes, but once the thing started to grow up, it became more difficult to manage. The fact that when I moved one note, none of their children moved with it was a little bit of a problem after a while. I guess this is intentional too, but it became non practical at some point.

3) The fact that the box won't adapt to the new size of the words when set on bold is kind of annoying too. I would prefer if it was automatic. You already answered this, I'm only giving my honest opinion.

4) The place of the bubble where the line connects appears kind of random at this time. The problem appears evident with different lenghts siblings (due to the amount of words in each of them), some may have the line on the center, others on the side, depending on the extension of the words in the bubble. It looks messy. I guess that's intentional as well.

Overall, it's great software for taking notes for myself and bring them into Scrivener. If I want to present this to other people, I would definitely need another application. (I guess iThoughts for iPad spoiled me. It works better than other more expensive Mac software).

Thanks again. I was delighted that everything was so easy. That's definitely great.

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20715
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:08 pm Post

cor_stellae wrote:Well, Keith, with so many intentional features, I may not be able to make many suggestions without betraying the concept.


Touché. :shock:

1) I changed the background color, exported the new "map" and the PDF ended up with the original yellow background. Would that be a bug?


I'll look at that. Obviously that's a bug - it should retain the background colour or use no background colour at all if you ticked the option not to have a background for the exported PDF.

2) It was definitely easy to take notes, but once the thing started to grow up, it became more difficult to manage. The fact that when I moved one note, none of their children moved with it was a little bit of a problem after a while. I guess this is intentional too, but it became non practical at some point.


Of course it's intentional - I'm not sure how I could have accidentally programmed that? I'd find it very awkward if every time you moved a note it moved all of its connected notes, especially when pretty much everything can be connected to everything else. You can use the keyboard shortcut in the Edit menu for quickly selecting connected notes, though. If you find it difficult to manage, then it's probably not the tool for you. :)

3) The fact that the box won't adapt to the new size of the words when set on bold is kind of annoying too. I would prefer if it was automatic. You already answered this, I'm only giving my honest opinion.


I changed my mind on this one after answering the other poster and playing some more. This one has been changed for the next build.

4) The place of the bubble where the line connects appears kind of random at this time. The problem appears evident with different lenghts siblings (due to the amount of words in each of them), some may have the line on the center, others on the side, depending on the extension of the words in the bubble. It looks messy. I guess that's intentional as well.


Yes, it is intentional (the word of the moment, it seems). Sort of, anyway. The arrows just point towards the centre of the notes.

If I want to present this to other people, I would definitely need another application.


Well, yes, this isn't presentational software at all. It's working-out-rough-ideas software.

(I guess iThoughts for iPad spoiled me. It works better than other more expensive Mac software).

It definitely sounds as though you should stick with iThoughts and your iPad - just as with Scrivener, Scapple won't suit everybody, but thanks for your honest thoughts regardless!

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

pe
peerb
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 9:41 pm

Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:09 pm Post

What a nice thought manager!

The first thing I tried with Scapple and Scrivener was of course to drag something from Scapple to Scrivener.
The second thing was to drag something the other way. But I couldn't. :(
Although I could see lots of reasons to be able to!

Will we be able to later on?

Regards,
Peer

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20715
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:11 pm Post

peerb wrote:The second thing was to drag something the other way. But I couldn't. :(
Although I could see lots of reasons to be able to!


That's a good point - I'll look at allowing drags from Scrivener's freeform corkboard into Scapple, thanks!
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

User avatar
Lord Lightning
Posts: 652
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 4:58 am
Location: Somewhere else!

Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:28 am Post

What link do I use to REPORT issues in the current beta? I am disinclined to dump a console report in an open thread. It is 12,378 lines long.
Lord Lightning

I'm a writer. I create worlds!
When I make a declarative statement it applies to ME. Not to everyone.

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20715
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:40 am Post

You can just email us, as usual, if you don't want to post publicly.
Thanks,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

Jo
JohannesG
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:05 am
Platform: Mac

Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:09 am Post

I just created an account on this forum to say this...
Scapple (excuse my language) ****ing ROCKS! This is what I have been looking for for years.

You can expect some bug reports, thoughts, suggestions and such from me in the near future.

Thank you for making this!

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20715
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:13 am Post

JohannesG wrote:I just created an account on this forum to say this...
Scapple (excuse my language) ****ing ROCKS! This is what I have been looking for for years.

You can expect some bug reports, thoughts, suggestions and such from me in the near future.

Thank you for making this!


Thanks!
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."