Scapple Beta - New Users Please Read

Al
AlanReynolds
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:46 am
Platform: Mac
Location: Monnickendam, Netherlands
Contact:

Thu Oct 18, 2012 10:58 am Post

KB wrote:
shorn wrote:Bug hunt: The spell check options are grayed out for me...


Someone else pointed this out and I fixed it earlier today. I'll upload a new beta in the next couple of days, thanks.
...
All the best,
Keith

Scapple is (going to be) grand. As a happy Scrivener use I will certainly want to buy a copy after the beta expires. I downloaded the beta today and was going to report the greyed-out spelling issue but I see that it is already in hand.
Best regards,

Alan

he
henrietta
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:30 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: US

Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:09 pm Post

Keith, you are brilliant. I'd been looking for a mindmapping/note-sketching program, and pretty grumpy about the options, and here you've created THE one. And just in time for NaNoWriMo. As happy as a clam &c, I am. The clam wept, she did.

I don't know if this is by design (I suspect not, given the syntax), but "Select Connected Notes" selects a single connected note below, whether from a top-level note or a mid-level note.

Another note: $10??? (Sorry--I know there's a pound sign here somewhere...) Seriously? No, no, no, no: you undercharge.

Thanks ever so much. (Yes, we Yanks do like your Britishisms.)

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20763
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Thu Oct 18, 2012 6:20 pm Post

henrietta wrote:Keith, you are brilliant. I'd been looking for a mindmapping/note-sketching program, and pretty grumpy about the options, and here you've created THE one. And just in time for NaNoWriMo. As happy as a clam &c, I am. The clam wept, she did.


Thanks!

I don't know if this is by design (I suspect not, given the syntax), but "Select Connected Notes" selects a single connected note below, whether from a top-level note or a mid-level note.


Hmm, no, it should select all notes connected to the currently-selected note. So if the currently-selected note is connected to three other notes, then those notes should be selected too. Are you saying that it is only selecting one note that is connected to the current note, and not other notes connected to it?

Thanks and tally ho!
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

he
henrietta
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:30 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: US

Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:11 pm Post

Hmm, no, it should select all notes connected to the currently-selected note. So if the currently-selected note is connected to three other notes, then those notes should be selected too. Are you saying that it is only selecting one note that is connected to the current note, and not other notes connected to it?


I just played a little more, and "Select Connected Notes" selects the notes directly adjacent/connected to the initial note. (At first, it looked like only the note directly below the initially-selected note was selected ... but this must have been a Henrietta, er, moment. :oops: )

This may be by design: Scapple selects connected notes, but one level deep.

Screen Shot 2012-10-18 at 3.05.38 PM.png
Screen Shot 2012-10-18 at 3.05.38 PM.png (76.01 KiB) Viewed 1637 times


Those are screenshots, by the way: image files dragged beautifully onto the Scapple document. (... more play ... ) Oh! And Scapple treats the image like a note: one can CONNECT A NEW NOTE from the image! Heaven.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24307
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:19 pm Post

That is by design. You can walk the selection up to a more nebulous or greater selection scope by repeatedly pressing the shortcut if you need to select a large amount of the tree.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

he
henrietta
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 8:30 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: US

Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:27 pm Post

Ah, OK--makes sense. Thanks, Amber. I jumped the gun. Wonderful program.

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20763
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Thu Oct 18, 2012 7:41 pm Post

I've also added another menu item, "Select Connected Clusters" to the next beta, which selects all connected notes and the notes connected to *them* and so on, to save having to repeatedly hit "Select Connected Notes" to connect all in a group.

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

ko
korm
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 3:03 pm

Fri Oct 19, 2012 1:24 am Post

Very nice. Thanks.

Would be helpful if exports to plain text didn't insist that files have .txt extension. It is just plain text after all, so not much can go wrong. Export direct to .md, .ft or whatever without the second stop of having to lop off the .txt

da
dafu
Posts: 564
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:33 am
Platform: Mac
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:00 am Post

korm wrote:Would be helpful if exports to plain text didn't insist that files have .txt extension.


I'm afraid you are going to meet this increasingly. The OS X file type identification system is more than a bit of a mess and really the only thing to do is to insist on extensions (and developers are encouraged to do same): .txt or .bother

8)

Dave

mc
mcwolfe
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:02 am
Platform: Mac

Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:06 am Post

I'm trying out scapple right now, and so far it definately fills my need for a simple, lightweight graphing-tool.

However, I have two tiny requests/suggestions: I'd like to have multiple connections between two nodes. For instance, If I have two characters as nodes and I want them to have different attitudes against each other, then I'd need two connections. And related to that, the ability to put labels on connections would be nice as well.

Edit: Strike those two. I realised it was just as easy to insert another node between the characters (instead of having two nodes with one or two labeled connections, have the connections set up as Character-node -> "label"-node -> character-node.

However, with that said, I haven't found a way to split a connection and insert a node quickly. That could be handy.

Also, for a bigger addition: Hyperlinking between different grafs? Or maybe have a master document that could include multiple grafs with hyperlinks between them? Would that be possible

Kind Regards
Ulf

mi
mitchellm
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 2:10 pm

Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:30 am Post

I may have missed this in the documentation, but I'm wondering about Scrapple and OPML exporting. With every document I've tried the OPML export results in completely independent "boxes" or entities. In some cases that's perfectly fine.

Here's what I'm wondering:

1. Is there some systematic way to have some boxes be sub-nodes of other boxes of text?
(If not, this really limits the usefulness of Scrapple for me.)

2. Is there some way of "notetaking" in Scrapple so that relevant boxes/nodes have notes inside of them?

I appreciate the unstructured nature of Scrapple, and it's wonderful. But if the whole thing always has be completely unstructured than it's usefulness goes down for me. And that "pathway" to usefulness is OPML export.

While Tree is much more structured (so a different beast) it does have the advantage of having some order to OPML exports, plus "notes" in Tree get translated via OPML into Scrivener as the text for a particular binder item (what used to be a box/node).

Ideally Scrapple could combine unstructuredness with a dollop of possible structure so when exporting to OPML people could take advantage of the structured items and embedded notes.

Some way to already accomplish this? Either (structure, embedded notes) a possibility for the future?

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20763
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sat Oct 20, 2012 12:23 pm Post

mcwolfe wrote:However, with that said, I haven't found a way to split a connection and insert a node quickly. That could be handy.


Have you tried double-clicking on the line between notes? That creates a new note between them and splits the connecting line so that it points from the existing notes to the new note instead of to each other.

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20763
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Sat Oct 20, 2012 12:27 pm Post

mitchellm wrote:1. Is there some systematic way to have some boxes be sub-nodes of other boxes of text?
(If not, this really limits the usefulness of Scrapple for me.)


No, there's not, because Scapple is completely freeform and you can connect notes in circle or spider's web if you want, so there is no way of determining hierarchy. If that limits its usefulness for you, then it probably isn't the tool for you, I'm sorry to say, seeing as this freeform approach that precludes hierarchy is fundamental to what Scapple is.

2. Is there some way of "notetaking" in Scrapple so that relevant boxes/nodes have notes inside of them?


I'm not quite sure what you mean here, given that all boxes *are* notes...

Ideally Scrapple could combine unstructuredness with a dollop of possible structure so when exporting to OPML people could take advantage of the structured items and embedded notes.


Try creating a completely freeform map with a hundred notes and then join every single item to every single other item. Then try to work out how that would translate to a hierarchy. If a human can't do it, AI is going to struggle even more. :)

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

mc
mcwolfe
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:02 am
Platform: Mac

Sat Oct 20, 2012 2:45 pm Post

KB wrote:
mcwolfe wrote:However, with that said, I haven't found a way to split a connection and insert a node quickly. That could be handy.


Have you tried double-clicking on the line between notes? That creates a new note between them and splits the connecting line so that it points from the existing notes to the new note instead of to each other.

All the best,
Keith


Yupp, discovered that afterwards... and also the various different ways to add nodes/connections even faster.

With that said, with hyperlinks between mutliple documents (or nested nodes.. or something similar) I'd gladly pay 40 or 50 USD for this.

/Ulf

mi
mitchellm
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 2:10 pm

Sat Oct 20, 2012 3:18 pm Post

Keith: I guess what is unintuitive is Scrapple seems to be able to build in a kind of "structure" and then ignores it when exporting to OPML.

Here's an example of how structure could be included: any links made with a one-way arrow indicate the base of arrow is "parent" and end of arrow item is "child." Then if there were 100 bits of info, Scrapple would know to only structure those with one way arrows, and it would know exactly how to structure it. In this way people who wanted some structure in OPML export would have it. Others would know not to use one-way arrows (or they wouldn't care about OPML). I'm not saying "one way arrows" are the only way to do it, just that if there was one linking tool that indicated structure (parent/child) then that would take care of the matter. In the end you would have an OPML with just a list of items, except for the structured ones.

(On the contrary, if structure matters so little to you, why offer OPML support? Why not go whole hog with your beliefs and forego OPML?)

I realize I was a bit unclear about the notes issue. In Tree Outliner I can have outliner "items" plus add "notes" if I want within each item. If I export to OPML, then import into Scrivener, I get a binder that is structured according to my outliner OPML, PLUS any embedded notes are positioned as text within a particular binder file. It's very sweet and nice.