Scapple Beta - New Users Please Read

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20716
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:19 am Post

ProfessorTom wrote:That didn't work either. Why would cause a nib to fail to load?


*Very* weird. Okay, just to check, try reinstalling it but this time move your existing copy of Scapple to the Trash and delete it before installing the other version rather than just overwriting the old version. If the inspector still won't load, please double-check that the console message you are receiving is still the same, and then do the following:

1. Ctrl-click on Scapple.app in the Finder and select "Show Contents" from the contextual menu.

2. Inside the Scapple bundle, drill down into Contents/Resources/ and look in en.lproj - is Inspector.nib in there?

Hmm, in the process of checking this, I notice that Inspector.nib is stored in en.lproj while other .nib files are inside English.lproj. That is a little weird, and I wonder if that is causing the problem. I'm going to look at that now...

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20716
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:30 am Post

usee760 wrote:Have been a big user of Mind Mapping software. I like Scapple because it seems to be free from a lot of conventions. Would like to see a Duplicate command, so that you can easily copy a note. :D


That's already easy. Either hit Copy and then Paste, or just Option-drag the notes you want to copy.

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20716
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:33 am Post

aurorob wrote:1. Keyboard movement of blocks (for fine tuning alignment etc)
2. Shift lock when moving blocks (again for alignment)
3. Recognize links and make them clickable
4. Center type in bubble option

This is already something I would buy. Is there eventually going to be some sort of tie into scrivener?


(1) is done for the next beta; I'm not sure how (2) would be any different from (1); (3) would be difficult because the text is just static when it's not edited, so it would be very difficult to make ranges of it clickable; I'm thinking about (4) but I'm not sure - adding alignment is moving a bit further into formatting territory than I originally wanted.

You can already drag notes into Scrivener's freeform corkboard (if you download the latest Scrivener beta), but dragging between will get easier still in the future.

All the best,
Keith
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

ta
taja47
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2012 3:12 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Oct 16, 2012 2:58 pm Post

hate to be the first one to ask this, especially at such an early stage...but have you had any thoughts about an *eventual* iphone/ipad companion app?

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20716
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Tue Oct 16, 2012 3:45 pm Post

taja47 wrote:hate to be the first one to ask this, especially at such an early stage...but have you had any thoughts about an *eventual* iphone/ipad companion app?


Depressingly, you're not the first. :) No, there are no plans for anything like this at this time - it's waaaaaaaay too early; it's not even out of beta on the Mac, yet! If Jen is interested in putting an iPad version of Scapple together after she's finished Scrivener, that would be great, but there's no way we are going to look at any iOS software before Scrivener is finished.
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

al
al3x
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:46 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Oct 16, 2012 4:38 pm Post

KB,

You've mentioned a couple of times already the next beta and I've been drooling over the improvements you've mentioned... so when do you plan to allow us to play with it? Will it include the buy button already ;-)?

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20716
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:02 pm Post

It will probably be a few days yet - lots to do! And the buy button won't be in there until after it's out of beta. :)
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

Pr
ProfessorTom
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:45 pm
Platform: Mac

Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:55 pm Post

Going further down the rabbit hole, what's the word on Scrivener expanding to iOS? ETA? Minimum OS version required?

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20716
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Tue Oct 16, 2012 7:15 pm Post

I answered the same questions only two posts above... It's not even out of beta for the Mac yet! (And I'm not even an iPad user.) Please no questions about other platforms yet... :)
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

ra
radiophage
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 3:17 pm
Platform: Mac

Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:08 am Post

In the quick kudos dept:

Had to whip up 3 complex diagrams on *very* short notice for a big meeting today. Scapple saved the day. While no doubt ill-advised to lunge at beta software for such a mission, it was perfect because it was quick, intuitive, and not loaded up with bells and whistles. Looking forward to supporting this work— $10 is probably too low.

Thanks KB et al. Great work.

Pr
ProfessorTom
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:45 pm
Platform: Mac

Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:53 am Post

I asked about the ETA of Scrivener, not Scapple. :)

But you raise a good point: I need to know when you're going to port Scapple to the TRS-80. My business can't afford to upgrade computers, but this app will save us so much time and money. Please, please, please add this feature. :P

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20716
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:30 am Post

ProfessorTom wrote:I asked about the ETA of Scrivener, not Scapple. :)


This is why I shouldn't answer questions at the end of a long day - now it's my turn to play the Dennis Leary video. :) The ETA for Scrivener on iOS is early next year now; it's taken longer than we thought. Actually, I'm eagerly awaiting an early build from our developer for the end of this week, and then I have a fun two weeks ahead of me writing the RTF writing/reading code for the iOS version...
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20716
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Wed Oct 17, 2012 10:31 am Post

radiophage wrote:In the quick kudos dept:

Had to whip up 3 complex diagrams on *very* short notice for a big meeting today. Scapple saved the day. While no doubt ill-advised to lunge at beta software for such a mission, it was perfect because it was quick, intuitive, and not loaded up with bells and whistles. Looking forward to supporting this work— $10 is probably too low.

Thanks KB et al. Great work.


Great! Thanks!
"You can't waltz in here, use my toaster, and start spouting universal truths without qualification."

Pr
ProfessorTom
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 1:45 pm
Platform: Mac

Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:57 pm Post

Thanks for the update on Scrivener.

Yannow, we're beginning to sound like two peas in a pod. Perhaps we should do a podcast. We already have a theme song for the show. 8)

mr
mrwolf
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:30 am
Platform: Mac

Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:50 am Post

Great work!! I download Scapple Beta and play for a while. Here is my humble feedback. An important feature missing is the ability to create a single line not connected to anything. Why? I create a complex conceptual map and wanted a division between the top and bottom portion of the conceptual map with a line across. The way around, I had to add two unnecessary boxes and connected across to divide the top and bottom. Please consider to include the ability of creating lines with no connection to anything.

Another suggestion to consider: the possibility to open Scapple inside Scrivener. Food for thought. Thanks for the Beta. I like what I see and will definitely buy a copy when is ready. Your software rocks.
Mr.Wolf