"Send to Scrivener"

do
dondiego87
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:48 am

Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:54 am Post

How about a "send to Scrivener" extension for Firefox (and maybe Safari as well)? This would be really handy for incorporating websites into research, much easier than [ctrl-click]>Add...>Web Page, then copying & pasting the URL and the title. I'm imagining the dialog box that comes up as similar to the official del.icio.us extension for Firefox. There should be a space for the URL, a space for Title, a space for Synopsis (or Notes), and maybe even a space for keywords.

This is probably the one thing that has me waiting to buy a license.

(Sorry if this is a duplicate post. Even if it is though, I think it's important enough to warrant saying a second time.)

User avatar
Eiron
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:01 pm

Wed Jan 24, 2007 1:08 am Post

Have you tried the Scrivener Services Menu (Services/Scrivener/"Append Selection to Current Text Document" & "Create new cliping from selection")? Not quite what you're looking for but effective nonetheless.


E

User avatar
KB
Site Admin
Posts: 20839
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Truro, Cornwall
Contact:

Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:24 pm Post

To be honest, I'm not a big fan of adding extensions to other programs. You can drag the URL from your browser to the binder, though. This doesn't work in all browsers, but it does work in Camino, which I generally prefer to Firefox.
All the best,
Keith

User avatar
Inkling
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:28 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:45 am Post

I must say, whenever I think of using those services in Firefox they are greyed out. Infact I can safely say they've never ever been clickable :(

ed
edf
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:45 pm
Platform: Linux
Location: New York, NY

Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:54 am Post

Services are only available in Cocoa apps; this is The Great Failing of the services menu (you cannot rely on it being there, so you stop using it).

Actually that is somewhat of an exagerration; Carbon apps (such as Firefox) can be modified to be Services aware, as mentioned here:
http://developer.apple.com/documentation/Carbon/Conceptual/appservices/tasks/chapter_3_section_2.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/TP30000993-CH206-CJBGBHBJ
...but the firefox guys aren't particularly interested in supporting platform-specific OS features.

Firefox 3.0 should be Cocoa, if and when it ever ships. Camino is Cocoa, but it must be awful -- for some reason I keep removin git from my hard drive.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24332
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Thu Jan 25, 2007 1:27 pm Post

You know, I even use BonEcho, which is a Mac optimised version of Firefox, but it looks as though they have not enabled the Services menu. The problem with Camino, for me at least, is that it does not support extensions. I couldn't live without Web Developer, Adblock, Aardvark, and that ultimate time waster, StumbleUpon.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

ed
edf
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:45 pm
Platform: Linux
Location: New York, NY

Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:07 pm Post

Ah, no extensions, yes that would make me delete it alright :)

I couldn't live without Web Developer, Adblock, Aardvark, and that ultimate time waster, StumbleUpon.


I whole-heartedly agree, though I would add NoScript, FlashBlock TamperData, iDND, and ShowIP -- I tend towards the paranoid when browsing.

Have you tried Zotero? I'm still trying to integrate that in my workflow.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24332
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Thu Jan 25, 2007 8:50 pm Post

Oh yes! NoScript, I forgot that one. Always have that on. I so disdain Flash that I just have *.swf set in my Adblock list. Another good one that I just recently came upon is R.I.P. You can add elements of a page to persistently remove. Useful for those sites that have space wasting columns, like many news sites. If all you want is the article, you can set up a RIP that will strip out all of the clutter. Since it uses the DOM instead of addresses like Adblock does, it is pretty reliable.

Oh, and for the really paranoid: Torbutton.

I have Firefox so shored up, whenever I use Safari or some other browser, the Internet feels like Las Vegas. I don't know how people can stand it.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

User avatar
Eiron
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:01 pm

Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:06 pm Post

Do any of you know of a way to block ads selectively so that I can do the following:
Salon has a fairly reasonable policy of asking us to watch an advertisement in return for full access to the magazine.But I've started blocking Salon ads for a couple of reasons: they no longer give you access for a full day, and the ads themselves are increasingly divorced from the editorial content and often of the type that just bugs my ass. They actually had an ad for the Lincoln Navigator with the tag Line “My dream is to leave the world better than I found it.â€

ed
edf
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:45 pm
Platform: Linux
Location: New York, NY

Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:46 pm Post

Are the ads always flash animations? Most are these days, and if they are, you can use FlashBlock to requir a click before showing the flash movie. This should leave the continue button intact.

If the ads vary between flash and images, look at Greasemonkey or RIP as Amber mentioned. There a few other possibiities in the Web Annoyances plugin section:
https://addons.mozilla.org/search.php?c ... fox&type=E
In your case, you will probably want to supplement URL-based ad blockers with page element (DOM)-based blockers, since you are visiting the same page layout with arbitrary ad content.
EDIT: just checked and AdBlockPlus has an element remover addition, so you can get the best of both worlds:
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/4364/

Safari actually has a very easy-to use page element removal tool called SurfRabbit. But who can stand using anything but firefox :)

Ah, tor, the mere mention makes me miss my tinfoil hat days...

do
dondiego87
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:48 am

Fri Jan 26, 2007 1:44 am Post

@eiron:

I've actually discovered a way to bypass that ad start page altogether at Salon.com. When you click on the "Continue to Salon.com" button after watching the ad, it sends you to a page where you get a cookie and then immediately forwards you to the homepage. By a well-timed screen capture, I was able to read the name of the page that button sends you to.

Instead of keeping salon.com in your bookmark list, just save a link to http://www.salon.com/news/cookie756.html. I get instant access this way, and have been for some months.

I've been wary of putting this tip out in the open in the fear that they would upgrade to a more secure method, but hopefully no one from Salon reads this forum. Or at least this post!

ma
mactheweb
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:35 am
Location: Port Townsend, WA, USA
Contact:

Mon Jan 29, 2007 6:45 am Post

Eiron wrote:
In short, which is the most configurable adblocker for Firefox?

E


I'm rather partial to the AdBlock Plus extension. It's highly configurable and can be accessed by keyboard, navigation menu or the Menu Bar.

User avatar
Eiron
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 4:01 pm

Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:49 pm Post

Dondiego

I've tried your suggestion and unfortunately it doesn't work for me; I just get sent to a 404 page. Nor Have I managed to do your screen capture trick. Are you sure this still works?

Guess I'm just going to have to RTFM with adblock plus.

Thanks to all.

E

do
dondiego87
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:48 am

Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:22 pm Post

Hmm. Nope, still works for me. Sorry....