Making LANGUAGE selection a project property rather than an application property

User avatar
latinmusePTY
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:41 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Panama
Contact:

Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:55 pm Post

I am multilingual and I use Scrivener for my work in progress in two languages (Spanish, English and occasionally Dutch). The problem I have been facing is that when I work in my non-English projects then most of the words get underlined because they are not English.

Currently, I either have to disable the language at application level every time I work on a foreign project, or live with the annoying "unknown word" indications.

It would be much better (and not difficult to implement at all!) if language selection was a project property rather than an application-level property.

BTW I am NOT talking about the User Interface Language! I prefer my UI language in English even though I am not a native English speaker.

br
brookter
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:01 pm Post

This is from Scrivener V3 for the Mac, so it's possible the feature will be coming to the Windows version soon (as the plan is for feature parity).

Edit > Spelling & Grammar > Show Spelling and Grammar (cmd-:) and change the dropdown box at the bottom from Automatic by language to the language of choice (actually, automatic by language works for me fairly well for English and French — no idea for Dutch and Spanish...)

Screenshot 2017-12-18 19.59.13.png
Screenshot 2017-12-18 19.59.13.png (558.11 KiB) Viewed 2526 times


HTH.

User avatar
latinmusePTY
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:41 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Panama
Contact:

Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:12 pm Post

I need it to be a project setting (not application setting) and I want to set it only once for a project as opposed to every time I load that project on Scrivener.

I have Scrivener 3 Beta for Windows and the Edit menu item list only has "Spelling" but no "Spelling & Grammar" and when I click on it what it does is to spell check the current document, it does not show any dialog.

br
brookter
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 12:22 pm
Platform: Mac

Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:42 pm Post

Fair enough -- I use different languages in one project so that wouldn't be particularly useful for me and the way it works now is fine.,

As for what's on the menu, the beta's in an early stage, it may be coming. But Spelling and Grammar is provided via macOS standard functionality -- it may be that Windows just doesn't have that capability?

RH
RHvdG
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 5:23 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Contact:

Wed Sep 12, 2018 6:07 pm Post

It would be very convenient if we could assign a language attribute to selected text, causing it to be spellchecked and hyphenated correctly. Language could also be a style attribute. Usage example:I have a lot of German, Italian and French quotations in my English language thesis, and the only solution for now is to have jagged edge text (not justified) and spell check manually.