Scrivener for Academic writers

Ti
Tibor
Platform: Mac + Windows

Mon Jul 13, 2015 9:17 am Post

I am a academic writer and keen Scrivener user. I love the structured approach, snapshots and split scrrens. Scrivener has however three weak points that seriously hinder its use for academic writing

1) Tables
- witing scientific paper without tables is not possible. I miss the possibility to copy paste tables , insert rows/columns, merge/split cells etc .. Basically I have to switch to Word for tables and then except for reall ysimple ones to copy tham as pictures! Bad...
2) Citations
the same is true for citations. I use Sente for bibliography management on Mac and endNote on PC at my university ... neither works fine with Scrivener. I have to compile the paper to Word, make citations list and then copy paste this list into Scrivener. The major problem is that a scientific paper undergoes many revisions - from colleagues, after review etc. Once compiled I can not use scrivener anymore for tracking changes to the citations that are made in this revision proces. I end up with two versions of documents. Draft (scrivener) and final (Word) each with a different set of citations. When I then want to start a new project and "reuse" my previous work i am stuck. I have to laborously add the citations again ...
3) As given above, academic writing encompasses a lot of collaborative work - comments, revisions, workng on the same document.. Scrivener does not offer this ..

Unfortunatelly unless this issues are solved Scrivener is not suitable for academic work beyond the point of a first draft .

De
Declan

Mon Jul 13, 2015 12:38 pm Post

Just a thought: think of Scrivener as a drafting tool.
Draft everything in Scrivener, and then output to the Word Processor of choice, scan the Sente references, and then work from there.
I suspect that's how most people with requirements similar to yours use it.