Local Dictionary needed

er
erehwon
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:07 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu May 10, 2012 7:11 am Post

What I would like to see is a local project dictionary, where I can add in all the place names, character names etc that I only need for this project. I don't want to add them all to the main dictionary. The same applies to special technical words

It probably wouldn't need to have the full dictionary mechanism (indexes, compression etc) since it would usually hold only a hundred or so words, maybe a couple of hundred sometimes. A couple of shareware word processors have done this using a simple text file with all the words added, separated by spaces - makes removing an incorrectly spelled word easy. Since the entire file was only a few ks, it could be sucked into memory and searched very quickly. And the spell checking code would only need to search this file in the event of finding a mis-spelling

regards

David Noakes

ch
chillyspoon
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:03 am
Platform: Mac

Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:40 pm Post

I second this request.

The ability to have a single set of words that are additions to the dictionary but only within the context of specific projects would be so so useful.

For example, I've got a series of stories, each developed in a separate Scrivener project but they share a common set of fictitious place and character names, which aren't necessarily plain English.

I use a Mac by the way but this request is really platform independent.. :D

mb
mbbntu
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:44 am
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Cambridge, UK.

Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:11 pm Post

chillyspoon wrote:this request is really platform independent

Well, it might seem as if it is, but actually it is not: Scrivener for the Mac uses the Apple text engine that is also used by TextEdit and various other programs on the platform. In other words, spell checking is handled by the system software, not by Scrivener. The best option for someone wanting special spell-checking facilities on OS X is to use a separate program like Spell Catcher, though unfortunately the future of that program must now be in doubt, since the developer sadly died prematurely some weeks ago. I have no idea what text engine is used by Scrivener for Windows, so I can't offer any comment on that platform.

Martin.
You should judge people not by how close they get to the top, but by how far they have come from the bottom. Some people have a mountain to climb just to get to the place where others start out. (Me, 2010)

User avatar
phil
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 10:44 am
Platform: Windows
Location: England

Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:42 am Post

I also populate my dictionary with project specific names, locations etc, and would like to see this feature available.

Perhaps a simple workaround, is we gain the ability to clone a standard dictionary (e.g. English/UK) and select the clone when we configure the project. This would then allow us to use/abuse the dictionary in the standard way without having to add any technical nightmare mechanics to the engine
--
Very funny Scotty, now beam down my clothes!

User avatar
robertdguthrie
Posts: 3075
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:06 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Contact:

Tue Aug 21, 2012 1:31 pm Post

phil wrote:Perhaps a simple workaround, is we gain the ability to clone a standard dictionary (e.g. English/UK) and select the clone when we configure the project.


This is something i've half-heartedly investigated for a while. It seems doable on the Mac side at least, if you can locate the spelling dictionary files, copy them, and the modify them internally to identify as a new language (like American English-[Project Name]). Then, presumably, if you only have one language selected at a time, additions to the dictionary will go into a supplemental file for that 'language's' dictionary.

I have yet to track down what set of files these might be, so I haven't gotten very far in my research. There's always something more shiny to divert my attention.
Often wrong, rarely in doubt.
Time for a change... I'm now rdale; same dog-avatar, same dog... channel?

mb
mbbntu
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:44 am
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Cambridge, UK.

Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:10 pm Post

Robert,

If you are on Lion, look at this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=15674

Not sure what the situation is for ML.

Martin.
You should judge people not by how close they get to the top, but by how far they have come from the bottom. Some people have a mountain to climb just to get to the place where others start out. (Me, 2010)

User avatar
robertdguthrie
Posts: 3075
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:06 pm
Platform: Mac
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Contact:

Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:34 pm Post

I've been assuming that to have a separate added-words dictionary supplement for each project, I'd have to copy the entire built-in dictionary, renaming it to reflect my novel/series, then select that "language" for spell checking, and finally, adding in the legitimate words for the context. The added words would then show up in something like "English_Automaton", rather than being lumped into en_US or similar with all my other added words.

But I'll certainly file that away for when I get further along on my quest; that editor seems easier to deal with the raw file.

Thanks!
Often wrong, rarely in doubt.
Time for a change... I'm now rdale; same dog-avatar, same dog... channel?