Page 1 of 1

"Updated" from prior version to Beta version

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 7:41 am
by Lunarclipper
I was running Version 1.6.1 on a Windows 7 computer. I had been able to drag keywords from the keyword popup list to the keywords for a particular document before, but haven't been able too for a while. I tried clicking the "check for update" option thinking there might be a patch that addressed this: Scrivener said it was all up to date.

I checked the manual, which said I should be able to do what I was attempting. I went to the forums Next to see if there might be an answer and noticed mention of 1.7.0.3, wasn't paying attention and didn't see it was beta :$. I clicked on the link to see if this release would fix the problem. I now have 1.7.0.3, but of course it is beta and tells me it will expire in April. I had the full version before (licensed and everything), is there something I should do?

Re: "Updated" from prior version to Beta version

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 7:52 am
by Lunarclipper
When I try to open the project I was working on, it gives me a dialog box that says
"Errors reading project" Followed by "Error: Error reading template info: Line:1 Column:2 Error:1"
This is with a template I created. It seems to open fine, but with the error I am afraid to start editing.

Worthy of noting: The problem with dragging and dropping keywords is fixed with this release.

Re: "Updated" from prior version to Beta version

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:30 pm
by robertdguthrie
Normally, using Help->Check For Updates will get you to the next non-beta release if you haven't already been prompted for it. If you want to try out a Beta, I suggest you install it in a different folder, and only use it on projects which are thoroughly backed up, just in case a Beta bug hits you where it hurts. For now, I'd suggest un-installing the beta, downloading the official release and re-installing that. If you want to continue the Beta re-install it in another folder once you have your official release running again.

As for the error, could you start from a previous backup? If so, I'd get the official release re-installed and open the backup. If not, try the current working copy first to see if the error is only present when opening your project in the beta.

Re: "Updated" from prior version to Beta version

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:02 pm
by Lunarclipper
Thanks robertdguthrie. I know the "check for update" usually works. The only reason I tried downloading the other is that I remember an instance before where this didn't work (though I believe it was in the last round of beta before the first Windows release.

How would I go about installing the official release in a different directory? I believe there is a an option for selecting what directory to put the program in when I install, but would the shortcuts for the beta and the official release launch their respective versions correctly, or would I need to modify one or the other to point to the correct .exe? (Then I need to find my registration info to unlock it. sigh)

As far as the error, it seems to be saving the project just fine, but has the error every time I open the project.

Re: "Updated" from prior version to Beta version

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:05 pm
by Lunarclipper
MimeticMouton, would I need to uninstall the beta to re-install the current official release? Would it remember I have registered my copy if I do so? wor could I simply install the old version over the new version?

Re: "Updated" from prior version to Beta version

Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:33 pm
by robertdguthrie
Lunarclipper wrote:Thanks robertdguthrie. I know the "check for update" usually works. The only reason I tried downloading the other is that I remember an instance before where this didn't work (though I believe it was in the last round of beta before the first Windows release.

How would I go about installing the official release in a different directory? I believe there is a an option for selecting what directory to put the program in when I install, but would the shortcuts for the beta and the official release launch their respective versions correctly, or would I need to modify one or the other to point to the correct .exe? (Then I need to find my registration info to unlock it. sigh)

As far as the error, it seems to be saving the project just fine, but has the error every time I open the project.


Yes, just change the folder name and it will install Scrivener there. Shortcuts that existed before will not point to the new version (right-click on a short-cut, choose properties, and you'll be able to see at what file the shortcut points). I'd suggest installing the BETA in its own unique folder, rather than the official release though. I'd also recommend uninstalling the Beta first, which occupies the location of the former official release, then installing the official release in the default location.

To sum up:
1. uninstall the beta that you have now.
2. re-install the official release in it's default location
3. re-install the beta, but specify a different folder for installing it.

The computer should remember your registration details, but if it doesn't check your email for the license info, or contact support for help retrieving the license info.

Re: "Updated" from prior version to Beta version

Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:35 pm
by tg2k
I have the same error. The file in question is the [project folder]\Settings\templateinfo.xml file. I never touched this file, as it's very old. Also, I opened it up in Notepad++ and it appears to be nothing but 129KB of NUL characters.

I renamed the file (put some underscores in front of it) and the error goes away.

So...I wondered if I could re-generate the file. What I did was I created a new project of the same type as the one with the error. I then copied its templateinfo.xml file over. No error. I don't notice any difference either.

I looked at the file BTW, and it looks like it just contains the same information that you see on the screen in the "New Project" window: The category (like Fiction), the name of the type of project (like Novel), the description, and the image shown, all encoded into XML. I'm not even sure why Scrivener puts this into your project folder, or tries to read it now, but it certainly wasn't getting read before, as it's been corrupt for a long time (I went through backups and indeed it got corrupted over a year ago).

As to whether Scrivener corrupted this, or something else: most likely this was but one of the early signs of my boot hard drive failing; I replaced the drive this was on about a year later when I started actually noticing corruption.

At any rate, just repair by overwriting from a fresh project, and you're good to go.

Re: "Updated" from prior version to Beta version

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 7:43 am
by MimeticMouton
Lunarclipper wrote:MimeticMouton, would I need to uninstall the beta to re-install the current official release? Would it remember I have registered my copy if I do so? wor could I simply install the old version over the new version?

You don't *need* to uninstall the beta to reinstall the current version, and if you're going to still be running both then I wouldn't bother now, but we do recommend uninstalling any beta versions and then installing the official version once you decide to stop beta testing or the testing ends and the new release is out. You won't necessarily have problems if you don't, but it's just best to start fresh so you avoid any potential conflicts or bugs from the earlier betas.

Your registration should be remembered even after an uninstall, as Robert said, but if you need to re-enter information and can't find your confirmation email, you can look up your licence here or, if that's not working for you, drop us an email at sales AT literatureandlatte DOT com.

As a side note, the keyword bug you're describing should be fixed in the current 1.6.1 release dated 31 October, so if that's the only reason you're using the beta, you should be fine just wiping the beta and then reinstalling the current release. There was a previous, short-lived 1.6.1 release that had that keyword bug which you may have been running. Unfortunately because of a conflict with the versioning system and the special NaNoWriMo trial that was out at the time, we weren't able to give the hotfix a new number to trigger the auto-updater, so if you happened to have downloaded that initial version in the window when it was available, you wouldn't have been notified of the updated release.

tg2k wrote:The file in question is the [project folder]\Settings\templateinfo.xml file....I looked at the file BTW, and it looks like it just contains the same information that you see on the screen in the "New Project" window: The category (like Fiction), the name of the type of project (like Novel), the description, and the image shown, all encoded into XML. I'm not even sure why Scrivener puts this into your project folder

The templateinfo.xml file is used when you create a new template to auto-populate the category, description etc. to save your needing to re-enter the information every time you tweak a template or create a new one from the same base. It's just a convenience and it can be safely deleted.

Re: "Updated" from prior version to Beta version

Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2014 11:03 pm
by Lunarclipper
Thanks for your help robertdguthrie and MimeticMouton. The uninstall and re-install worked perfectly. I would love to participate in this round of beta testing, but I am trying to finish my first NaNo project, then work my way through to my third project. I made the 50,000 with my third project, but none of my projects are complete stories. I am pushing myself to finish my WIP before participating in NaNo again, and I want to participate in NaNo soon.

Thanks for your help on this. Hopefully I will finish my WIP before you run another round of beta testing so I can participate. I loved participating in the round prior to the initial windows release.

Re: "Updated" from prior version to Beta version

Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:13 am
by Lunarclipper
MimeticMouton: I just discovered a small problem: My project target option is gone from my tool bar, and not available to add. How do I get it back?

Re: "Updated" from prior version to Beta version

Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:44 am
by Lunarclipper
Please disregard the previous post: I found the project target. I was looking under the format tool bar options before :oops: I found it under the main tool bar options. :wink: