Scrivener and Zotero

ha
happydemic
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:14 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:51 am Post

Zotero users may be interested to know that there is now a much improved workflow for using Zotero in Scrivener for Linux with a floating picker and getting live citations at the end. It takes a while to set up, but it does work well once correctly configured.

Full instructions: https://emmareisz.github.io/zotpicknix/ .
Last edited by happydemic on Wed Mar 30, 2016 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kr
kraml
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:30 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Fri Oct 16, 2015 1:27 pm Post

If you have space to open two windows (two monitors is ideal, of course), then simply open Scrivener in one and Zotero in the other. If you have scannable cite selected in Zotero, then just click and drag the source/title from Zotero into the cursor position in Scrivener. This gives the same results as the solution posted above, and seems simpler to me. In both cases it is required that the exported (i.e., "compiled") file be run through RTF/ODF Scan. The ultimate, of course, would be a picker that inserts the citation right into Scrivener according to the desired citation style; but it seems that we may be waiting quite a while for that. k
Last edited by kraml on Fri Oct 16, 2015 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2069
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Fri Oct 16, 2015 4:22 pm Post

Cool! I've been intrigued by Zotero, but haven't had much call for it lately. Does look useful...
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

ha
happydemic
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:14 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Sat Oct 17, 2015 11:46 am Post

kraml wrote:If you have space to open two windows (two monitors is ideal, of course), then simply open Scrivener in one and Zotero in the other. If you have scannable cite selected in Zotero, then just click and drag the source/title from Zotero into the cursor position in Scrivener.

Naturally - but these are two big ifs!

Personally, I don't have enough monitor real estate to view both windows at a useable size at the same time.

And I find it very convenient to not have scannable-cite selected. That way I can use copy-and-paste for fixed citations in e.g. emails, and use scannable-cite in Scrivener without having to change Zotero's settings.

There's also a third aspect - getting locator and prefix text into the little pipes of a scannable-cite marker, which is very fiddly to do manually with 10pt footnotes. Doing it through the picker suits me much better.

But YMMV! :D

kr
kraml
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:30 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Sat Oct 17, 2015 2:07 pm Post

I can see where content notes would be easier in the picker. Good reason! As an afterthought, can you go back and update the content notes that you have created, using the picker? Or does it "start over"? k

ha
happydemic
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:14 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:27 am Post

kraml wrote:I can see where content notes would be easier in the picker. Good reason! As an afterthought, can you go back and update the content notes that you have created, using the picker? Or does it "start over"? k


Sadly, no - it starts over. Giving the picker the ability to interpret markers on the fly gets raised from time to time, but it would be a major enhancement.

You can of course edit the content notes manually in the usual way. This is arguably slightly less fiddly when you are overwriting existing locators than when you are trying to put the cursor between the correct pipes and remember the right syntax.

kr
kraml
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:30 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:55 pm Post

Juris-M has a feature that permits the disablement of trailing punctuation. It is thus possible to embed the citation right into the text of the note without concern for those pesky little pipes. k

ha
happydemic
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:14 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Dec 01, 2015 9:39 am Post

Yes, that works for some users, but trailing punctuation in the footnote style is only one reason users might want to include locator information in the citation.

The obvious use case (which applies to me) is where users are switching between citation styles which format page references differently. For example some format page ranges as pp. 20-21, some as pp.20-21, some as 20-21 and some even as pp 20-21.

kr
kraml
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:30 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Tue Dec 01, 2015 9:39 pm Post

Yeah. I am a bit cloistered in my little "CMoS Only" world, I suppose. Good point. k