Two limitations : full screen colors and scrivening mode

Lo
Lo_B
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:29 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: France (Provence).

Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:39 am Post

Hello,

I have two limitation on debian wheezy xfce:

- when I set background and text colors for full screen mode it does not change the colors.

- In scrivening mode I can not select text from one doc to the other (after the dotted line). Eg if I select all : the text of only one document is select. (so I can not change the font of all documents in one time)

Do you have the same "bugs"/limitations ?

cr
creativedanger
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 12:14 am
Platform: Linux

Thu Oct 02, 2014 12:18 am Post

Only one I can think of is it lacks the ability to sync. Can't even find the Sync command under the File menu. H'mmm.

fi
fireraven
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 1:47 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:24 am Post

As for the syncing I can't find that in the windows version either. It's a pain because it was one of the main features I purchased Scrivener for.

User avatar
xiamenese
Posts: 4367
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:32 am
Platform: Mac
Location: London or Exeter, UK.

Thu Oct 02, 2014 6:25 pm Post

You might like to look at for some idea of how much LAP and Tiho still have to do to catch up with the Mac version. The Linux version is ported from the Windows version, so this applies.

viewtopic.php?f=30&t=16056

(1) On selecting across documents viewed in Scrivenings:
On the Mac, Scrivenings mode is a composite text in a single text view, so you can select all of the text across multiple documents at once; on Windows, Scrivenings mode comprises multiple text areas, so you can only select one chunk of text at a time.

(2) Sync’ing has not yet been implemented on Windows.

(3) I don’t know about the colours in full screen.

Remember:

• Scrivener for Mac had been under development for about 5 years before work began on the Windows version — in fact, some of the modifications under Mac version 2 were prompted by wanting to make it possible to edit the same project on both (therefore all three) platforms.
• The Windows and Linux versions are completely separate developments from the Mac version, and not a port as they don’t share a common programming base.

Mr X
The Scrivenato sometimes known as Mr X.
iMac 27" (late 2015) 10.15.4, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSID
MBP17" (late 2011) 10.13.6, 16GB RAM, 2TB SSID
2017 iPad, iPadOS 13.3, 128GB, Apple Pencil
Scrivener, Scapple, Nisus Writer Pro, Bookends …

fi
fireraven
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 1:47 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Thu Oct 02, 2014 9:23 pm Post

xiamenese wrote:• The Windows and Linux versions are completely separate developments from the Mac version, and not a port as they don’t share a common programming base.


I think it should be added that in one of the official forum posts they say that the Linux version is just a recompile of the Windows coding. Just for clarity's sake.

User avatar
xiamenese
Posts: 4367
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:32 am
Platform: Mac
Location: London or Exeter, UK.

Thu Oct 02, 2014 10:42 pm Post

fireraven wrote:
xiamenese wrote:• The Windows and Linux versions are completely separate developments from the Mac version, and not a port as they don’t share a common programming base.


I think it should be added that in one of the official forum posts they say that the Linux version is just a recompile of the Windows coding. Just for clarity's sake.

Fine. As you see, I’m a long term Mac user, so I wasn’t sure whether LAP had to make any tweaks in the coding to compile to Linux. What I was trying to get across is that anything that is true for the Windows version is going to be true for the Linux version. I guess my wording in that sentence could be seen to be ambiguous.

:)

Mr X
The Scrivenato sometimes known as Mr X.
iMac 27" (late 2015) 10.15.4, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSID
MBP17" (late 2011) 10.13.6, 16GB RAM, 2TB SSID
2017 iPad, iPadOS 13.3, 128GB, Apple Pencil
Scrivener, Scapple, Nisus Writer Pro, Bookends …

fi
fireraven
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 1:47 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Fri Oct 03, 2014 12:53 am Post

I found it a little ambiguous, but seeing as I knew more about it than some people might I figured it out easily enough. I just felt the addition was needed for people a bit less obsessed with the project than I. After all clarity is the key to good communication.

el
ellarien
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 11:07 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Sun Oct 05, 2014 9:55 pm Post

The full-screen colour thing might be related to your Linux desktop and/or hardware. The colours work for me, but I can't get the transparency on the background to work properly under Mint MATE -- it works fine on Cinammon, but all of my Linux systems are a bit underpowered in the graphics department and don't get on well with Cinammon.

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2049
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Sun Oct 05, 2014 10:20 pm Post

Both work for me, too. (Including transparency.)

Do you have desktop effects turned on in your desktop manager?
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

el
ellarien
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 11:07 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:28 pm Post

garpu wrote:Both work for me, too. (Including transparency.)

Do you have desktop effects turned on in your desktop manager?



Ha. The only 'desktop effect' I could find for MATE was 'use compositing.' So I turned that on, and lo and behold transparency is now working, at least on my Mint 17 VM installation. Thanks! That's been bugging me for the last couple of years.

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2049
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:06 pm Post

Awesome! Yeah, that happened to me once, too--I turned off effects because I had a video card that was slowly dying, and I wanted to make it limp along until payday. I thought it was the old card causing issues until I remembered I'd turned it off and transparency in Scrivener quit working. :)
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

el
ellarien
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 11:07 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Thu Oct 09, 2014 11:14 pm Post

I think MATE must have it turned off by default, as this issue has followed me through several clean installs on different systems.