BETA 1.1.0 RELEASED

User avatar
LAP
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:25 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:15 am Post

Here are the download links to the latest Scrivener beta for Linux - Beta 1.1.

This beta expires 31st July 2012

There are currently two files to choose from, a deb packaged install and an archive which you should be able to extract and run from without further configuration. The same version of Scrivener is available in each.

32 Bit archive and deb package:
http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivenerforlinux/Scrivener.tar.gz
http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivenerforlinux/scrivener-1.1.0-beta.deb

64 Bit files will come within the next 48 hours.

For details on bugs fixed and additions please read the following:

See post here - it applies to Windows and Linux.
http://www.literatureandlatte.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=17929&p=123792#p123792

Regards,

Lee
26th March 2012

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2059
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:10 pm Post

Woot. That file-open crash is fixed! PDFs aren't showing up yet, or is this not in yet? Somehow, thought it was? MMD is just in the windows one?

Nevermind, I'm reading the README. Alles klar. :)
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

Aw
AwareWriter
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:49 pm
Platform: Linux

Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:52 pm Post

Thank you. I've installed the beta and will spend some time with the tutorial later today when I have a few uninterrupted hours.

John

Ri
Rithe
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:32 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:19 pm Post

I'm still getting the Seg Fault when I try to open a project. I have the dump file, is there a way to send it to you guys? (if it would be of any help)

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2059
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:25 pm Post

Rithe wrote:I'm still getting the Seg Fault when I try to open a project. I have the dump file, is there a way to send it to you guys? (if it would be of any help)


Can you open it up by invoking Scrivener on the command line? For instance, navigate into the top level of your project's directory (it's the one ending in "scriv." Then use "Scrivener project.scrivx". Or try opening the project.scrivx file with Scrivener by right-clicking on it (in most window managers.)

p.s. 'Scrivener" and "scrivener" are two different commands for most Linux distros. The real Scrivener is capitalized. I've made that mistake more than once.
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

Ri
Rithe
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:32 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:34 pm Post

No. It opens the last project. I tried "Scrivener ./Proj.scriv" as well as go into that directory and "Scrivener ./project.scrivx" Both just opened the last project I had open.

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2059
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:38 pm Post

Okay, on the project.scrivx file, can you right click and do "open with"?
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

Ri
Rithe
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 2:32 am
Platform: Linux + Windows

Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:00 pm Post

Nope. It opens the remembered project.

I'm running Kubuntu 11.10, but with backports. So there could be a strange library issue going on. I haven't been able to even run Scrivener for a few weeks.

j.
j.herbert
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:47 am
Platform: Linux
Location: Japan
Contact:

Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:42 am Post

Good day to all you writers-out-there...please return the courtesy.

I am using ubuntu 11.10, I am in Japan, but I can not use the dictionary option.
I go tools>option>corrections and on the dictionary field I get: Japanese(Japan)
But if I click on select, I am getting nothing on the dictionary selection>Available dictionaries screen. It is obvious my dictionary is not working because I can't spell check documents.
Any feedback?

ta
taxidriver
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:58 am
Platform: Linux

Tue Mar 27, 2012 1:27 pm Post

it's faster, and with less bugs. Good job!

MMD doesn't work. But is not a problem to me.

me
meta
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 5:51 pm
Platform: Linux

Tue Mar 27, 2012 6:08 pm Post

Crash on startup:

$ Scrivener
Cannot mix incompatible Qt library (version 0x40704) with this library (version 0x40800)
Dump path: /tmp/1f01dd45-10ea-5334-2559212d-3b90c9f4.dmp
Aborted

Kubuntu 11.10. Let me know if you need the dump file.

User avatar
LAP
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:25 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:13 am Post

Sorry for the delayed response.

Unfortunately, at the moment we can't get a 64bit build up as we've experience some issues with integer conversions. So, I doubt, given the other issues raised here as well as on Windows, we're going to provide a 64bit version any time soon. Windows is still our main focus right now; however, please feel free to email me reports on the segmentation faults, conflicting libraries, broken project file. I can't promise a fast response right now. lee AT literatureandlatte DOT com, or better still if you have a fileshare like dropbox, just drop it in there and invite me - I'll take a look.

MMD is something we need to resolve sooner if possible. So, just bear with us (Tiho and I) whilst we get the Windows beta bedded down.

A question for the community though, the Aspell dictionary issue reminded me that we are not entirely sure how this was configured in the Debian previously. If someone out there knows, we will definitely look at that sooner as well. Probably best to email me currently.

Lee

ta
taxidriver
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 7:58 am
Platform: Linux

Thu Mar 29, 2012 1:19 pm Post

I understand, but do not give up on linux. Scrivener is better as a multi-platform project.
Anyway, this is a good version.
Too bad for MMD.I am interested in MMD. Especially for the possibility of compile in LaTex format.
But the most important features of the program are working perfectly.
Thanks

ek
ekotyk
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:34 pm
Platform: Linux

Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:26 pm Post

Okay, I'm panicking a bit over here. I just downloaded the 32 bit deb for the latest beta (twice) and it won't install. It does tell me wrong architecture, (my system is 64 bit Ubuntu), but I'm sure I've installed 32 bit stuff before and it worked.

ek
ekotyk
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:34 pm
Platform: Linux

Sun Apr 01, 2012 3:58 pm Post

I tried installing the Windows version via Wine. No joy there either. :(