What does this mean?

Kn
Knuxchan
Platform: Linux

Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:29 pm Post

I'm getting this error when I try to install Scrivener on my EeePC. I'm still a newbie to the Linux OS, and I'm not sure what I need to do to rectify this issue. I read through the Wiki to install the program on Ubuntu, but I didn't see anything in regards to these particular library files.

Any help would be appreciated! I attached a screenshot of the error.
screen.png
screen.png (22.31 KiB) Viewed 3035 times

garpu

Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:07 pm Post

if you go to /lib and do ls -la libc*, what do you get?
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

Kn
Knuxchan

Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:45 pm Post

I attached another screenshot of what I get when I do that:
screen2.png
screen2.png (16.41 KiB) Viewed 3027 times

garpu

Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:13 am Post

It looks like your version of glibc is too old. You should be able to update with your distro.

Kn
Knuxchan

Thu Feb 03, 2011 2:10 am Post

Is that something I would have to get from the Asus EeePC website or somewhere else? Are the library files part of the Bios? or Utilities? This computer didn't come with any external CDs or anything since there is no optical drive in the computer, so all of the software on here is pre-installed.

RobHamm

Thu Feb 03, 2011 5:16 am Post

Knuxchan wrote:Is that something I would have to get from the Asus EeePC website or somewhere else? Are the library files part of the Bios? or Utilities? This computer didn't come with any external CDs or anything since there is no optical drive in the computer, so all of the software on here is pre-installed.

While there are other ways to update those libraries, if you've never run your update manager, there's probably other stuff that needs freshening up, as well.

For now, either find the update manager in your administration tools, or open a terminal and type the following:
/usr/bin/update-manager