New Beta 1.4

ra
randywallace
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:46 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: New York City

Sun Dec 12, 2010 9:19 pm Post

@LAP indicated that the new Linux Beta is on the way... will package for Ubuntu (etc...) once I see it, so wait for my .deb to make it an easy upgrade!!
Ubuntu 10.10 i386 / Gnome

User avatar
roguish
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:20 pm
Platform: Linux

Mon Dec 13, 2010 12:43 pm Post

Well, it's here:
http://www.literatureandlatte.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=10649&start=0
Any chance you could perform your .deb magic, please? :)
Roguish
Ubuntu 12.04 on Laptop/desktop/netbook

ra
randywallace
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:46 pm
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: New York City

Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:24 pm Post

hehe, new baby to play with...

ANYWAY, I apologize (with a little baby spit-up on my shoulder)!

Here we go, with 'all' arch for amd64 guys (we'll see how this goes)

should be an easy upgrade for everyone,

$ sudo dpkg -i scrivener-beta_1.4beta-6_all.deb

Ubuntu

Slackware

If Dropbox won't let you get it, I've probably been locked out, even though there's a 10GB daily transfer limit. If that happens, they are also here: On my Webserver
Last edited by randywallace on Mon Dec 13, 2010 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ubuntu 10.10 i386 / Gnome

ma
marek_online
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:30 pm
Platform: Linux

Mon Dec 13, 2010 4:36 pm Post

Excellent. Works a treat on Ubuntu Maverick.

Thanks for the deb Randy, and thanks to the L&L team (particularly Lee!) for the superb software - brilliant stuff.

je
jethomes
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 1:54 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:39 pm Post

Awesome, thanks! Just in case anyone else is having this problem, I got the following in the terminal when I first upgraded and tried to run Scrivener:

Code: Select all

could not read from search indexes file
return links 0 QMap()
LiteratureAndLatte/bin/Scrivener: symbol lookup error: LiteratureAndLatte/bin/Scrivener: undefined symbol: _ZN14QTextRtfWriterC1EP9QIODevice

Turned out I'd left an earlier Scrivener beta in usr/local/LiteratureAndLatte before I started using randywallace's .deb packages. I removed that, then removed and reinstalled the .deb package, and everything works fine now.

User avatar
uriel1998
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:46 am
Platform: Linux
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Contact:

Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:02 pm Post

randywallace wrote:If Dropbox won't let you get it, I've probably been locked out, even though there's a 10GB daily transfer limit. If that happens, they are also here: On my Webserver


Coral CDN cache links of all the above to help spread the load.

Ubuntu:
http://dl.dropbox.com.nyud.net/u/623040 ... -6_all.deb

Slackware:
http://dl.dropbox.com.nyud.net/u/623040 ... .4beta.tgz

(You append .nyud.net to the hostname, if you're unfamiliar with it.)

Randy, if it's smacking you that hard, let me know and I'll gladly help share the load, whether through my own dropbox, or we could set up a torrent, or my own server.

xc
xcorex
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:54 am
Platform: Linux

Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:04 am Post

I'm a debian user and the deb package worked like charm. However, a friend of mine is a Fedora user. So, I had built a rpm package with alien.

How-to

Code: Select all

sudo alien -r scrivener-beta-1.4beta.tgz -v --generate
sudo rpmbuild --buildroot=/home/ro/scrivener-beta-1.4 -bb --target i686 scrivener-beta-1.4-2.spec


http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1031391/scriven ... 4.i686.rpm

User avatar
roguish
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:20 pm
Platform: Linux

Tue Dec 14, 2010 12:27 pm Post

Thank you RandyWallace - the deb magic worked perfectly.
Roguish
Ubuntu 12.04 on Laptop/desktop/netbook

ub
ubersoft
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 3:54 am
Platform: Linux

Tue Dec 14, 2010 2:23 pm Post

Oddly enough I haven't been able to get the .deb to work. It installs, but won't load. I just copy the contents of the tar over to /usr/local and that works fine.

ca
catalinux
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:10 pm
Platform: Linux

Wed Dec 15, 2010 3:06 pm Post

The single progress I see in this Beta 1.4 is the lack of that annoying progress bar of the words count...
aptosid xfce/scrotwm amd64

fa
faithy666
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 1:33 am
Platform: Linux

Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:35 pm Post

I installed using the .deb thingy and it acted like it would work until I tried to open a scrivener project or start a new one, then it just went away. I tried copying the files to the \usr\local place, and now it just goes away after the beta version info box. So then I reinstalled with .deb, and it still just goes away. Any help for those of us who have to look everything that has to do with command line stuff?

Thanks! Using Ubuntu Netbook Remix 10.10

br
brightthings
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:47 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Korea

Sun Dec 26, 2010 10:53 pm Post

@faithy666 - when you copied the LIteratureandLatte folder to /usr/local/ did you navigate to the LiteratureandLatte/bin directory and type "ldd Scrivener"?

Have a look at this: http://www.davidlday.com/tag/ubuntu/

Also, have you tried the new beta 1.5?
Asus Z77-Corsair Custom Build: Win 7 <> HP Proliant 350ML 64 bit: Mint <> Dell Optiplex 745 64 bit: Mountain Lion <> Dell Inspiron 8500: Maverick <> iBook G4: OSX Tiger <> Scrivener on Windows and Linux and Mac!

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2049
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:30 am Post

faithy666, you said it goes away...what happens when you launch it from terminal? is there any kind of error reported?
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

fa
faithy666
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 1:33 am
Platform: Linux

Mon Dec 27, 2010 3:20 pm Post

I'm not sure what I did wrong to begin with, but you guys set me on the right track. I ran the .deb file, and apparently it didn't take, or maybe I needed to delete the old Scrivener files. Either way, it seems it was an amalgam of old Scrivener and new, and there was a LiteratureAndLatte folder inside the LiteratureAndLatte folder (perhaps I did that when I tried de-archiving the files). So I moved the new folder, the inner LiteratureAndLatte folder, out and overwrote the old one with it. My problem-solving skills are always better on day two. :) And now it works, which is good, and I am happy.

When the this beta expires, do I need to delete the old Scrivener before adding the new one?

Thanks!

br
brightthings
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 1:47 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Korea

Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:42 pm Post

do I need to delete the old Scrivener before adding the new one


That's what I've been doing. Of course, make sure your project files are not in the LiteratureandLatte directory. Only problem with deleting and installing new betas is that the project menu (i.e. recent items) is wiped each time and has to be redone.

In my Windows version I just reinstall the new beta over the top of the old, though it's recommended the old one is completely uninstalled first. I haven't noticed any problems.
Asus Z77-Corsair Custom Build: Win 7 <> HP Proliant 350ML 64 bit: Mint <> Dell Optiplex 745 64 bit: Mountain Lion <> Dell Inspiron 8500: Maverick <> iBook G4: OSX Tiger <> Scrivener on Windows and Linux and Mac!