Change Default Save Location? [BUG LOGGED]

Sp
Spitfire
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:09 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:02 pm Post

I was wondering if we'd be able to change or add a default save location to the three that are already in the drop down menus for saving/backing up projects instead of needing to go through and select the specific folder we want to save to? Or change the folder in which the browse button opens up in from "My Docs" to a folder of our selecting?

kd
kdbertel
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:20 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Nov 02, 2010 3:13 am Post

I think this is a Mac paradigm vs. Windows paradigm discrepancy. I know I've mentioned before that the file-save dialog needs to be more Windows-like than it is, and I believe Lee said something to the effect of "I'll look into it when I have time".

So, have patience. Once the nasty bugs are ironed out, this is the sort of thing that can be gone after.

User avatar
LAP
Posts: 1005
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:25 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:09 am Post

Thanks for the feedback. I completely agree. I just tried the export files dialog myself and the browse button appears to be completely non-functional - Opps!

I'm thinking of implementing a solution like the "Save As' dialog but remembering where you last saved. However, I need to prevent users saving projects within projects as there's been some issues with this as well.

I have logged it as a bug as it is very Mac specific and non-intuitive for Windows users.

Lee

Sp
Spitfire
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:09 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:30 am Post

Thank you!

I'm absolutely adoring Scrivener and can't thank you enough for taking on this massive task of importing it over to Windows.