.rtf import issues[ADDRESSED]

Aa
Aarchel
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:37 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: You tell me.

Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:40 am Post

It appears all kinds of strangeness occurs when you import an .rtf that was created by Word 2003 that has track changes enabled on it. The most obvious sign is a negative number like -360 or -240 at the beginning of any line that has been indented, centered, etc. The other sign is that it imports all the text in the document even that which was deleted at one time.

I've attached a screencap of this issue.
Bug.gif
Track changes bug.
Bug.gif (292.91 KiB) Viewed 1978 times


In short Word attempts to maintain its track changes data even in .rtf format. The problem is Scrivener attempts to interpret the extra data rather than throwing it away. Of course you wouldn't want to discard data that represents a change or an addition, so it may be impossible to fix this.

As a workaround, if one wants to maintain track changes data in their document then they will need to create a copy of the original .doc, turn off track changes in it, save it, and then save it as an .rtf before importing.

Also, I just noticed that when I middle click in word I get a weird artifact of text from scrivener whether it is minimized or not.

If it's of any help, I am using Word 2003, on Win 7 Ultimate.
Home:
Win7 Ult x64, AMD PII 940 @ 3.0Ghz, 8GB DDR2 1066 RAM @ 800Mhz, 2 x 300GB Velociraptors RAID 0, 2 x 750GB HDD's, 4870 X2 GPU, A7DA-S MB, Soundblaster Titanium X-Fi.
Work:
XPPro SP3, C2D E8600 @ 3.33Ghz, 4GB RAM, 120GB HDD, Integrated Intel Garbage.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24275
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:15 am Post

This is very valuable information. I was getting this problem with some files I was working with, actually while putting together the NaNo template, but they originated from the Mac. Are you positive these numbers correlate to track changes, because Mac text engine RTF files don't implement change tracking, but perhaps these files originated from Word way down the line---that would surprise me though. It's more likely an RTF version thing.

You might also try copy and paste as a work-around. Should save a few steps.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

va
vanessago
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:43 am
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Contact:

Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:20 am Post

I got the strange -360 and -480 numbers at the beginning of every paragraph when I imported an RTF file that had been created by Scrivener 2.0 on a Mac, so I the issue isn't just with Word files.

Vanessa

va
vanessago
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:43 am
Platform: Mac + iOS
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Contact:

Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:23 am Post

vanessago wrote:I got the strange -360 and -480 numbers at the beginning of every paragraph when I imported an RTF file that had been created by Scrivener 2.0 on a Mac, so I the issue isn't just with Word files.

Vanessa


Oops, I should also mention that the RTF file exported by Scrivener 2 for Mac looked fine when I opened it using Word 2007, so the problem wasn't there. And the strange numbers in Scrivener for Windows were on the beginning of EVERY paragraph. Here are what the first few lines looked like:

-360Alix Hyde
-480Alix Hyde – detective
-480Basics
-480Born: Andrea Kimberly Cruz (she doesn't know). Earliest memory is as Annie Alix Sherrington
-480Name meaning: Kimberly

Aa
Aarchel
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:37 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: You tell me.

Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:27 am Post

It appears this is more complicated than I thought. I originally got rid of it by turning off track changes and then saving it as an .rtf, but it seems I did something else to it as well. After digging into it a little, it looks like the -360 thing is caused by line spacing other than single. After I changed the line spacing to single they didn't appear after importing.

However, Scrivener does import all changes from the track changes data attached to the resulting .rtf. I guess I was missing half the answer.
Home:
Win7 Ult x64, AMD PII 940 @ 3.0Ghz, 8GB DDR2 1066 RAM @ 800Mhz, 2 x 300GB Velociraptors RAID 0, 2 x 750GB HDD's, 4870 X2 GPU, A7DA-S MB, Soundblaster Titanium X-Fi.
Work:
XPPro SP3, C2D E8600 @ 3.33Ghz, 4GB RAM, 120GB HDD, Integrated Intel Garbage.

User avatar
rowanfae
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:20 am
Platform: Windows
Location: Wasatch Mountains

Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:15 am Post

Aarchel wrote:After digging into it a little, it looks like the -360 thing is caused by line spacing other than single. After I changed the line spacing to single they didn't appear after importing.


That makes more sense than change-tracking: I got the same thing (-480, I think) at the beginning of a double-spaced file I originally wrote in OpenOffice, saved as RTF, and imported to Scrivener ...
Using:
Scrivener Beta 0.2.4

System:
Windows 7 Starter on a Gateway netbook
Intel Atom Processor N270 1.60Ghz
32 bit OS with 1.00 GB RAM

sc
scribbler1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:49 pm
Platform: Windows

Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:57 pm Post

Related but similar problems.

Scrivener gets "confused" if your file name contains a period -- foo.bar.001.rtf will not import.

I also get "-280" at then beginning of each line (after renaming to foo-bar-001.rtf then importing); quick workaround for me was to open the source file, select-all, then cut and paste to Scrivener.

PS -- scrivener for windows -- great work on a fantastic product!

La
Laxaria
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:10 am
Platform: Mac + iOS

Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:00 pm Post

Scrivener gets "confused" if your file name contains a period -- foo.bar.001.rtf will not import.


Tried it with a .pdf file. Seems to be a bug.

I suggest you start a new thread for it.

User avatar
StarTigress
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:44 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:32 pm Post

vanessago wrote:I got the strange -360 and -480 numbers at the beginning of every paragraph when I imported an RTF file that had been created by Scrivener 2.0 on a Mac, so I the issue isn't just with Word files.

Vanessa


I got some of these with RTF's created by Liquid Story Binder, too. I figured it was some sort of LSB madness.
I <3 Scrivener for Windows Beta. Thanks to everybody who helped create it!!!

"A pen went scribbling along and when it tried to write love, it broke...." ~Rumi

sc
scribbler1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:49 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:52 am Post

scribbler1 wrote:Related but similar problems.

Scrivener gets "confused" if your file name contains a period -- foo.bar.001.rtf will not import.

I also get "-280" at then beginning of each line (after renaming to foo-bar-001.rtf then importing); quick workaround for me was to open the source file, select-all, then cut and paste to Scrivener.

PS -- scrivener for windows -- great work on a fantastic product!


After a little experimenting it looks like Scrivener recognizes the name of the import file as anything that comes before the first period, whether it's an RTF, PDF or whatever. (It then gets itself confused because it can't find such a file, so the binder shows a shortened file name and the text ends up blank).

The simple fix for the developers is to change the rule from "Left of First DotInFileName" to "Left of LastDotInFileName"... I think it's as easy at that! ...scribbler

je
jennymoss
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:46 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Nov 02, 2010 2:08 pm Post

I also get the -480s inserted into the text when I import an rtf file (Word 2010).

sc
scribbler1
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:49 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Nov 02, 2010 2:25 pm Post

jennymoss wrote:I also get the -480s inserted into the text when I import an rtf file (Word 2010).


As a quick fix with Scriviner already opened:-
1. Open the file in Word
2. Control-A to select all
3. Control-C to cut
4. Alt-Tab to Scrivener
5. Control-V in the text area.

Hope this helps...

je
jennymoss
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 1:46 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Nov 05, 2010 2:59 am Post

Thanks for the tip, Scribbler.

no
norm311
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 2:32 am
Platform: Windows

Fri Nov 05, 2010 6:04 am Post

There is a posting under Technical Support on this issue.

You may find it helpful as it deals with importing issues like these.

There are suggestions that resolve some of these issues.

Ra
Ray4Ever
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 11:31 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:56 pm Post

This is a related issue. After I posted a new topic, I was told to come to this post.

I'm trying to import files in the research section. When I use Microsoft word 2007, if I save the document in RTF format, it works find. When I don't save it in that format, it's supposed to automatically convert it, but none of the words show up. It's just a blank gray screen.