Found something in the Tutorial [BUGS FIXED]

Du
DukTape
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:28 pm

Tue Oct 26, 2010 2:59 am Post

AprilD wrote:
DukTape wrote:I think I killed my tutorial. I was just near the beginning, where it said to drag step 3 to the header view (and I don't know if that meant in the binder or up top, so I did it in the binder). Then I was reading it, and thought I'd put it back where it belonged, I mean with its level back at the same level as the other steps. Only somehow both steps 2 and 3 disappeared on me. I hit ctrl+z a few times, but it didn't bring it back. I closed the tutorial without asking it to save, but those steps are still nowhere to be seen. :(


Hi DukTape! I'm pretty sure that the parts that involve dragging into the header are not live yet. According to the tutorial instructions, if you think you've messed up your tutorial, go out of Scrivener and use Explorer to go to where you had scrivener create your tutorial file. Highlight and delete the tutorial folder. Then go back into Scrivener and restart the tutorial process to create new tutorial files. Then you can go right back to where you left off. Hope this helps!


Thanks, AprilD! It worked. This is pretty interesting stuff.

User avatar
Tatra
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:58 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Ooh, Shiny!

Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:22 am Post

Another random thing I've found in the tutorial is the fact that the footnotes and the annotations are not already there in Part 4: Text Tools. It just looks plainly like this:
Inline Annotation and Footnotes
Inline footnotes and annotations look like this:

This text has a footnote after it. This is a footnote. When the text is compiled, exported or printed, this footnote will be turned into a “real” footnote (or endnote).

And this is an annotation. Annotations can be completely removed from the text when you compile, print or export.
Nanowrimo 2010: Bob.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24267
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:44 am Post

jnfr wrote:__________________________________________________________________________________________
Found in the tutorial, 5e references dragging keywords from the keyword HUD, but when I open the HUD it has no keywords in it.


Thanks, this one has already been reported and we are aware of the problem.

nibbled thumb wrote:__________________________________________________________________________________________
in 5b of the tutorial on the inspector it says that the options in General includes : include in compile, but it’s actually ‘include in draft’ on the general pane of the inspector.


(Great user name). Good catch. This tutorial was adapted from the Mac 2.0 version which has abstracted the naming conventions a bit. Before, if you renamed “Draft” to “Bubbles” the interface would change to “Compile Bubbles” and “Include in Bubbles”, which was nice… but kind of a support problem. You can no longer say “Just click ‘Include in Draft’”. So small things like this slipped through the editing net.

Tatra wrote:__________________________________________________________________________________________
Now, as I’ve said, I might just be misunderstanding the words, but when I think of ‘padlock’ I think of a lock with a loop and when I see the picture that is used on the icon, I think of a ‘key.’


Looks like that phrase should have been highlighted in orange. There will be a padlock icon on the far right side (and just the way you imagine it). At the moment, this feature doesn’t exist yet. As you note, the Key icon is for keywords—totally unrelated.

rjr20 wrote:__________________________________________________________________________________________
Hi. When I took a snapshot as directed in section 5f I could then see the snapshot I had just taken, but not the one which was supposed to be there from when the tutorial was written. Unless I’m doing something wrong which is entirely possible!


You aren’t do anything wrong. It looks like what happened was, at some point this tutorial project was exported as RTF files and then re-imported. That’s my guess anyway. This would explain why the keywords are gone, and this snapshot is missing.

nibbled thumb wrote:__________________________________________________________________________________________
It should tell us to go back to the folder because since there are no sub-documents in the outliner mode all we will see is a blank page.


Actually that was kind of the point of this exercise: to illuminate the fact that corkboards are not necessarily functions of containers, but anything in the binder at all can become a container (even images in the Research folder). The outliner/corkboard is blank on a normal file because it doesn’t have children yet, but it could have children.

Perhaps this steps should have the user create an index card, and see how it comes a child of Step 7? That might help.

Found a rather confused sentence in Step 8 “(whatever that meansNo need”. I think there’s a parentheses and a sentence transition missing there.
nohika


Oi, yeah. That got totally mangled! :oops:

Focused is spelled wrong.


Actually both forms are correct; but you are right the single consonant is preferred. English!

ninjakittyofdoom wrote:__________________________________________________________________________________________
It currently reads “…so that it can be compiled when compile. ” I would rephrase it to something like “…so that it can be compiled once you have finished.” Or something to that effect.


Good catch.

DukTape wrote:__________________________________________________________________________________________
I think I killed my tutorial. I was just near the beginning, where it said to drag step 3 to the header view (and I don’t know if that meant in the binder or up top, so I did it in the binder).


As AprilD points out, you can always regenerate a new tutorial project by deleting the old one. But you are right the drag-to-header function has not been coded yet—it should be highlighted in orange to indicate that.

bklynwriter wrote:__________________________________________________________________________________________
This did not work for me. I see the gray bar, but nothing happens when I click on it. There is no percentage pop up either.


This feature has not been implemented yet; it should have been coloured orange. The above line introducing text scaling was highlighted, but not this one.

Tarta wrote:__________________________________________________________________________________________
Another random thing I’ve found in the tutorial is the fact that the footnotes and the annotations are not already there in Part 4: Text Tools. It just looks plainly like this:


Hmm, more evidence that this tutorial version was exported and then re-imported.

Thanks everyone!
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

no
nohika
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:09 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:31 am Post

"Go to View > Corkboard > Show Pins. Each index card will now display a pin holding it in place that is the colour of the label associated with the document. Alternatively, you can select View > Show Label Color to mark the corner of an index card the with the colour of the label. You can also select Show Stamps via View > Corkboard, which places a diagonal stamp on the cards—this stamp shows the status associated with the document represented by the index card."

The commands are wrong. "Show Pins" is actually "Show Label Pins" and "Show Label Color" doesn't exist. "Show Stamps" is actually "Show Status Stamps".

=) Just helpin' out.

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24267
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:32 am Post

Thanks! Just saw this from another post, too.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

no
nohika
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:09 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:43 am Post

Okay, so I'm in Part 3 Step 13, and down at the bottom this "Currently, the beta imports text only and not the images yet." is in orange.

...does that mean it can't import anything at all, or...? I don't understand why it's orange.

Oh, and another thing.. "The Compile sheet will expand to show a whole raft of options." "Range" sounds better than raft, I think.

Du
DukTape
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:28 pm

Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:50 am Post

nohika wrote:Okay, so I'm in Part 3 Step 13, and down at the bottom this "Currently, the beta imports text only and not the images yet." is in orange.

...does that mean it can't import anything at all, or...? I don't understand why it's orange.

Oh, and another thing.. "The Compile sheet will expand to show a whole raft of options." "Range" sounds better than raft, I think.


Yeah, but "raft" is funner. :D

La
LaughSing
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:06 am
Platform: Windows

Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:52 am Post

I'm in step 8, Splits, and it says, "Alternatively, click on the left button in the right of the header view above (the square with the horizontal line through its middle):".

No, your other left. :wink:

The left button in the right of my header view has a vertical line, and performs a vertical split.
Samsung N130 netbook, Windows 7 starter,Intel(R) Atom CPU N270 1.60 GHz, 1GB RAM, 32 bit

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24267
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Oct 26, 2010 4:53 am Post

Argh! I've been inverting sides for days on end now!

Thanks. :)
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

no
nohika
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:09 pm
Platform: Windows

Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:00 am Post

LaughSing wrote:I'm in step 8, Splits, and it says, "Alternatively, click on the left button in the right of the header view above (the square with the horizontal line through its middle):".

No, your other left. :wink:

The left button in the right of my header view has a vertical line, and performs a vertical split.


What does it say when you hover over it? Mine has them reversed - if I hover the mouse over it, it says it's a horizontal split.

User avatar
LAP
Posts: 1023
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:25 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:07 am Post

Thanks everyone, I have augmented the Tutorial and incorporated all of the feedback on this post.

La
LaughSing
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:06 am
Platform: Windows

Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:39 am Post

nohika wrote:
LaughSing wrote:I'm in step 8, Splits, and it says, "Alternatively, click on the left button in the right of the header view above (the square with the horizontal line through its middle):".

No, your other left. :wink:

The left button in the right of my header view has a vertical line, and performs a vertical split.


What does it say when you hover over it? Mine has them reversed - if I hover the mouse over it, it says it's a horizontal split.

Haha! It *says* it's a horizontal split, but it looks like a vertical split and acts like a vertical split. <quack>

Of course, if these picky little things are the worst things wrong with the product, WOW.
Samsung N130 netbook, Windows 7 starter,Intel(R) Atom CPU N270 1.60 GHz, 1GB RAM, 32 bit

my
myralynn
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 9:05 am
Platform: Windows

Sat Feb 05, 2011 9:15 am Post

Hey - FYI on the tutorial Part 2, Step 8: Splits it says a couple times about the screen that is in focus is the one with a header that is "blue". I think that only applies if the pc has the standard colour scheme in operation. I have a different colour scheme (you can select this on the control panel of the computer) so all my windows have a green header and therefore my screen in focus turns green. I run Windows XP. Cheers. :wink:

my
myralynn
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 9:05 am
Platform: Windows

Sat Feb 05, 2011 9:55 am Post

me again - another colour thing in the tutorial: Step 12 project search, the tutorial says the word binder will be highlighted in red, on my pc it's highlighted in yellow. not sure if that's the colour scheme or what. as before windows XP, pc is an HP Compaq top of the range dinosaur from about 5 years back :)

sa
saggers
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 9:06 am
Platform: Mac + Windows

Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:13 am Post

I tried to find whether this has already been discussed but I could not find anything. I am using beta 021. In the tutorial there is a passage that says:

"Alternatively, if a Corner Mark is selected in the Options the corner of each index card will be the color of the label associated with it. You can also select Show Stamps via View > cork board, which places a diagonal stamp on the cards—this stamp shows the status associated with the document represented by the index card"

Neither of these seems to happen. Using the options to choose pin instead of lable works but not the other way around.