Default Binder Icons Do Not Stay Changed Based on Text Prese

User avatar
DolusBonus
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 4:39 am
Platform: Windows
Location: The Republic of Texas

Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:25 am Post

Minor issue but wanted you to be aware:

When I return to a project the binder icons for text files that chance based on the presence of text or synopsis text return to a blank icon even though text is present. Once I click on the file in the Binder it returns to the correct icon. The next time I return to the project, however, the same problem exists.

Thanks!
Dolus

http://DolusBonus.com
"...|..... a small, permissible deceit.....|..."

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24275
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:32 am Post

It sounds like your search index might be jammed and refusing to save updates (we use that to fill in the icons as that is way faster than checking the disk). Please reset it using the Tools menu from the project window, reload the project and see if that resolves the issue.
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

User avatar
DolusBonus
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 4:39 am
Platform: Windows
Location: The Republic of Texas

Mon Jan 25, 2016 9:38 pm Post

Worked like a charm and the icons are displaying correctly.

The only issue I have is there was nothing to remind me to check the forum for a solution. Can Scrivener do that?
Dolus

http://DolusBonus.com
"...|..... a small, permissible deceit.....|..."

User avatar
rdale
Posts: 2014
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 1:07 pm
Platform: Mac, Win + iOS
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Mon Jan 25, 2016 10:18 pm Post

DolusBonus wrote:The only issue I have is there was nothing to remind me to check the forum for a solution. Can Scrivener do that?


Scrivener can't, but the link at the very bottom of this discussion "Subscribe topic" will send email notifications when people post to this topic.
FKA: robertdguthrie
AKA: R Dale Guthrie, Robert, Mr. Obscure, and "Oh, it's you again".

User avatar
AmberV
Posts: 24275
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 4:30 am
Platform: Mac + Linux
Location: Ourense, Galiza
Contact:

Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:28 pm Post

In the User Control Panel under posting settings, there is also a flag that will automatically subscribe you to any thread you participate in.

(Glad the icons are feeling better! :wink: )
.:.
Ioa Petra'ka
“Whole sight, or all the rest is desolation.” —John Fowles

User avatar
DolusBonus
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 4:39 am
Platform: Windows
Location: The Republic of Texas

Fri Jan 29, 2016 2:40 am Post

How cool is that.....

Thanks!

I didn't really think that was a thing actually.
Dolus

http://DolusBonus.com
"...|..... a small, permissible deceit.....|..."

bu
bunny
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 1:20 pm
Platform: Windows

Fri Feb 05, 2016 2:00 pm Post

Same here. It is more common with lots of files too.
Harmless enough bug, but still...
Attachments
error.PNG
snip of a example.
error.PNG (16.64 KiB) Viewed 1439 times

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8824
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Sat Feb 06, 2016 5:10 pm Post

Are you working with the project in a sync folder such as Dropbox or transferring between Mac and Windows? If the problem is regularly recurring after using Tools > Save and Rebuild Search Indexes, it might be that the project isn't always syncing completely between closing on one computer and opening on the other.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)