LEE'S UPDATE - BETA 035 RELEASED

User avatar
RussWhaley
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:19 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:19 am Post

Install was a bit dicey, but once successful, 035 is running wonderfully.

FWIW on the install... the installer would freeze before the setup was completed. I resolved the issue by disabling items in system startup via msconfig until the installer worked properly.

I think this hangup had more to do with my machine than Scrivener. I'll keep my eyes open as I write...

Cheers!

Russ
Version: 2.9.0.29 Beta (743042) 64-bit - 14 Nov 2019
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 bit V.1903 Build 18362.476

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8869
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:21 am Post

Bribrimcb wrote:I updated it without uninstalling it. Will this cause problems/should I go back and do it again?

You might be fine, but it wouldn't hurt to uninstall and reinstall just to make sure everything's cleaned up properly. Make sure you run the uninstaller as an admin if you installed as admin.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

User avatar
RussWhaley
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:19 pm
Platform: Windows

Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:24 am Post

LAP wrote:
garpu wrote:Used it a bit, but nothing too intensive, and haven't found anything glaringly wrong... Being able to compile directly to doc is quite nice, though, and would be worth a beer, if people involved were closer. :)



Garpu, I disagree - it must be worth at least 2 beers in an Irish pub or three in a standard bar - preferably Pints. And if you include the ability to import Word docs without a Word install, that must be a keg - surely? If we can agree on commodity pricing, then I'll meet you pretty much anywhere come Dec. Post official release I'm definitely ready for holiday - I'm thinking the USA - I hear beers cheap there now?

Lee


Not sure what you usually consume... these days, I'm not sure American beer is really beer, just a fizzy yellow liquid with beer packaging (e.g. "beer" that rings in at 64 kcal per bottle - there's nothing to it!). But... in many places, local microbreweries are keeping the torch lit, I'd recommend them over the major brands.
Version: 2.9.0.29 Beta (743042) 64-bit - 14 Nov 2019
OS: Windows 10 Home 64 bit V.1903 Build 18362.476

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8869
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:43 am Post

RussWhaley wrote:fizzy yellow liquid

You're thinking of Mt. Dew...Equally gross.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

fr
friendlyghost
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 5:45 pm
Platform: Windows
Location: England

Mon Oct 03, 2011 11:21 am Post

As with an earlier beta (see my earlier post), I had a problem with launching the installer from the Firefox download bar (I use a Firefox add-on called PDF Download from Nitro). When I double-clicked on the installer, the following windows popped up and the installation stalled. As one of the windows referred to Firefox, I closed Firefox and instead double-clicked on the installer file in my directory in Windows Explorer, and then it launched and installed fine. Last time I also tried to install from the Firefox download bar, so that's what the problem was. I always use this method of launching an installer, and I've never ever had a problem with it, so there must be something about the Scrivener installer and how it behaves when Firefox is also running (or this particular add-on is running). I have Windows 7, 64-bit.
2011-10-03-scrivener_install.png
2011-10-03-scrivener_install.png (40.1 KiB) Viewed 1991 times

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2054
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:53 pm Post

RussWhaley wrote:But... in many places, local microbreweries are keeping the torch lit, I'd recommend them over the major brands.


Yeah, microbrewery all the way. I used to live a matter of blocks from one. Haven't found any in the new place yet. :(
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

wo
wordswendt
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:11 pm
Platform: Windows
Contact:

Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:19 pm Post

I've been using beta 035 for a few days now. I've found it works perfectly on my main laptop, but it's very slow to load on my netbook (my last load clocked in at around 2 minutes). Could this have been due to the removal of the memory optimization code? The previous beta loaded almost instantly on the same netbook. My netbook is only a month or two old, so it's made to current netbook specs.

I'm a programmer, too, and I tip my hat to you for a job well done. If it stays this slow to load on my netbook, I'll live (and still buy the full Windows version).
Last edited by wordswendt on Mon Oct 10, 2011 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lu
Lunarclipper
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:03 am
Platform: Windows

Wed Oct 05, 2011 3:15 pm Post

Something to consider: I opened a new project in the short story format, set up the title page, and created some scene files. I then set the word count goal for the project, at which point I noticed that Scrivener said I had 28 words, even though I hadn't typed anything in any of the scenes yet (just blank files with titles). Turns out that there are 28 words (personal info, title, by line, and word count tag) on the title page. I am not sure, but I think it did this with my projects in novel format as well.

The point to consider: I don't think editors/publishers/contests consider the contents of the title page as part of their word count requirements. I could be wrong on that, but I usually think of the body of the text, minus title page/headers/footers/page numbers, as the words being counted.

Anyways, just something to think about :)

Lunarclipper

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8869
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:53 pm Post

This is something we'll be addressing, with an option in compile to exclude certain documents from the word count statistics, but it's a post 1.0 issue--this actually wasn't added until 2.0 in the Mac version. The word count does get rounded, however, so most of the time there's some margin for a few extra words from the title page. If it's critical that you have an exact count, you can correct the number after compile by subtracting the title page word count (or add it specifically to the document before compile rather than using a variable). Headers and footers aren't counted--it's just the title page text that's additional here.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

Mi
Milliebert
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:24 am
Platform: Windows

Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:02 pm Post

garpu wrote:
MimeticMouton wrote:
garpu wrote:Weather would be pretty crappy in most parts in November, though.

More incentive to stay in the pub! It's where all the cool novelists hang out in November. ;)


Yeah and it's not like Boston doesn't have its share of pubs...


At least in Boston pubs, everybody knows your name...

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8869
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Thu Oct 06, 2011 4:24 pm Post

And your troubles are all the same. So true.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2054
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Thu Oct 06, 2011 9:48 pm Post

Did PDF functionality disappear again? Worked in 029, and suddenly doesn't.
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8869
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:02 pm Post

garpu wrote:Did PDF functionality disappear again? Worked in 029, and suddenly doesn't.


Importing or compiling? There's a bug with PDF compile causing the text size to come out smaller than specified, but otherwise things should be working. What are you seeing?
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)

User avatar
garpu
Posts: 2054
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Platform: Linux

Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:16 pm Post

Displaying. I've got a PDF in my research, and it's not showing up. Nor are the PDFs in my recipe collection. It's like what was happening the version Lee had us download the pdf dll. (Don't have that DLL, or I'd give it a try replacing it.)
Slackware-current 64-bit, XFCE

User avatar
MimeticMouton
Posts: 8869
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 5:39 am
Platform: Mac + Windows
Location: city of rain
Contact:

Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:00 am Post

What's your default PDF reader? Last time a couple people had trouble with this, it turned out to be due to the file associations, quite mysteriously. Lee hasn't had a chance to do any bug fixes on that, so it may be what's happening to you. You can test by creating a vanilla account and opening one of the projects there to see if you can view the PDFs, or just remove the file association. Not quite pretty as a fix, I realize, but that's all I have to suggest at the moment. PDF viewing in general is working, so it sounds like something specific to your set-up.
Jennifer Hughes
(MM for short)